Works for me Wednesday – Quick Fix Meals

Posted on

worksforme.jpg

Last week I talked about planning my bi-weekly menu. This week I’m going to share some of our favorite recipes that I use when I just don’t want to cook what’s on the menu or something comes up and there’s not time for what’s planned. The recipes also include ingredients that I almost always have on hand. Hopefully I explain everything clearly, if you have any questions just let me know!

 Also – check out Rocks In My Dryer for more great tips!

Speedy hot pockets

Refrigerated biscuits
Sliced ham
Shredded cheese – we usually use colby jack

Press out biscuits so they are flat and little bigger than when they came out of the container. Put a few slices of ham and a about 1/4 cup of shredded cheese in the middle of the biscuit. Fold the biscuit over and seal edges. Bake at 350 degrees for about 13-15 minutes or until golden brown. Substitute whatever filling you want. Can make with different meats and cheeses, pizza flavors, etc.

Spruce up a can a soup by making bread bowls!

1 package refrigerated jumbo biscuits
1 package tin foil

Separate biscuits. Roll out on cutting board until discuit is 6-8 inches in diameter. (I just use my hands to roll out) Take handful of tin foil and scrunch into a ball. Make foil balls that are approximately softball size. Lay rolled out biscuits on top of tin foil ball and place on baking sheet (so “bowls” are upside down). Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Let cool. Remove from tin foil. Flip over and fill with your favorite soup!

Easy crock pot chicken

3-4 frozen chicken breasts (yes frozen!)
1 can cream chicken soup
1 can cream mushroom soup

Cook in crock pot on low for 8-10 hours.
Shred chicken after about 7-8 hours
Make rice or noodles and serve chicken over top

Quick stir fry
2-3 boneless chicken breasts, cut up
1 bag frozen stir fry veggies
Rice or egg noodles

Cook chicken in frying pan. Add veggies until cooked through. Meanwhile make rice or noodles to go with stir fry.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Works for me Wednesday – Quick Fix Meals

    Sonshine said:
    January 23, 2008 at 9:53 am

    Great ideas! Thanks for the reminder about “speedy hot pockets”. I usually do pizza pockets with the fridge type biscuits but I don’t know why I hadn’t thought about doing ham and cheese ones. I just might have to those for a weekend lunch 🙂

    Brandie said:
    January 23, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Great ideas!! I’ll be trying them soon!

    Liza's Eyeview said:
    January 23, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Hot pockets are my son’s favorites!

    Nicole said:
    January 23, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I love all these ideas. Thank you for sharing!

    Nicole said:
    January 23, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Also wanted to say that after I commented about the recipes I read your Adoption Journey on your sidebar! WOW! What amazing faith & trust you have shown. And your reward has been great. I’ll be checking back to see how new parenthood is treating you.

    Stacey said:
    January 23, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    I love the bread bowls. I will definately use this idea

Leave a Reply

