I’m not sure what to say

Posted on Updated on

So I’ll just show you a picture:

That’s right. It says pregnant. And those are my fingers holding the pregnancy test. And I do believe it was me that took the pregnancy test but I’m not sure how that is all possible. Well, I know how it’s possible, silly. But after almost 10 years of being unable to conceive what was the Lord thinking?

I know, I know. His timing is perfect. But does He realize we have a 6 month old? That means we’ll have a 14 month old and a newborn. Yikes. Holy cow. Oh my goodness gracious I think I’m going to go throw up.

We found out on Monday and as you can see I’m still a little bit in shock. And ya know if it wasn’t for Gilmore Girls I probably wouldn’t even know I’m pregnant. Because after so many years of big fat negatives I no longer take pregnancy tests.

But on Monday I realized I was ten days late. TEN DAYS! Oh no. But I still wasn’t going to take a test. I rationalized that I’d been really stressed lately. And it’s my stupid psycho brain playing tricks on me again like it’s done a hundred other times.

And so as usual at 4:00 pm on Monday I was working and watching Gilmore Girls. And Suki went into labor. And then Lorelei thought she was pregnant. And then there was a commercial for lotion for stretch marks. And then they played it again…back to back! Seriously. And then there was a baby commercial. And then about ten other commercials about babies and moms and stuff.

Maybe I should just take the test. Then my brain will settle down and Aunt Flow will come and life will get back to normal.

And as you already know it was positive. I think the words that came out of my mouth were, “Holy crap!”. I didn’t know what to do. Do I cry? Do I scream? Do I laugh? Do I thank the Lord or ask Him, “WHAT ARE YOU DOING??”. Do I call Hubby or wait til he gets home? I have to tell someone!

So I told Angel. She was pretty happy about it from what I can tell.

Pat made me go get another test when he got home. He didn’t believe in my pregnancy testing abilities so we splurged and got the digital one. And there it was. Way to go Hubby. Look what you’ve done! And he actually seems pleased about this.

Yes, I’m pleased. I’m very very happy. I’m just scared and worried. I’m high risk because of all my history of cysts and fibroids and scar tissue and who knows what else. Please pray for us and this little one that’s so miraculously growing inside of me. I’ve learned that he (yes,Β Pat says it’s a boy) already has his organs. Isn’t that amazing! I will get an ultrasound done on Thursday, April 24th.

Which by the way happens to be Angel’s 6-month birthday. Excuse me while I go throw up!

9 thoughts on “I’m not sure what to say

    Jenny said:
    April 16, 2008 at 10:01 am

    I’m hitting you up on facebook!

    sincerelyanna said:
    April 16, 2008 at 10:32 am

    MISSY! MISSY! MISSY! Oh my gosh! Congratulations! This is such happy news!! I’m jumping up and down for you! YAY!! Let me just keep typing exclamation points and CAPITAL LETTERS!!!!! I’m so excited for you!

    Teri said:
    April 16, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Wow! Just WOW – that’s the stuff that autobiographies are made of πŸ˜‰ stories like that…I’ll be praying! Thanks for sharing!

    weavermom said:
    April 16, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    I found you from Sincerely Anna’s site, and I just have to say that being the oldest of a brother/sister pair that is 16 months apart – I LOVE it! Mom says it’s hard at first, but then it gets easier because the close age makes vacations, etc.. so much easier! πŸ™‚

    Congrats! God totally knows what He is doing, and I pray for safekeeping for your new little one.

    Liz said:
    April 16, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    WOW – well you can just keep that water you’re drinking FAR FAR AWAY from me πŸ™‚ Congratulations!

    texasknights said:
    April 16, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    My first two are about 14 months apart. It was rough but I LOVED it and am benefitting from it now. Congrats!

    Ann said:
    April 16, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I was directed here from Sincerely Anna too! Congrats!!! I found out I was pregnant with #2 the day that #1 turned 9 months old! I too went and splurged on a digital test because I doubted the 2 lines!! I am currently mommying my two at 19 months old and 3 months old, and I will say it is hard at times, but oh-so worth it! I can’t wait to follow your journey!!!! YIPPEEEE!!!!

    learningpatience said:
    April 18, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    OH, OH, OH!!! I am SO crazy excited for you; I just can’t STAND it! Know that we are praying for you, for health and for freedom from worries as you progress through this pregnancy!

    As I was reading your post, I was thinking of my cousin who is in very much the same position as you…but I see she already commented. (It’s Ann, above!)

    Pam said:
    April 20, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    I’m here from Anna’s blog…CONGRATULATIONS!!! My two are 14 month apart, so I am smiling knowingly for you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

