Conversations…During Labor

Posted on Updated on

I do believe the doctors and nurses got quite a kick out of my crazy family. Here are some of the conversations you might have heard during my marathon labor…

__________

The nurse asked me where I worked. After I told her she said to Hubby, “What do you do?”. He answered, “Whatever she asks me to do”.

__________

I was about 8 cm dilated and my mom says to the nurse, “Where’s the baby now?”.

The nurse answers with a smile, “Inside Missy.”

Of course my mom meant how far down the baby was but the nurse had to tease a little – it had been a long 2 days!

__________

The nurse asks me, “Would you like a mirror to watch” as I started pushing. I say yes and she immediately calls someone to get a mirror.

My sister-in-law Leana (from South Africa) leans over to my sister and says “Did she ask her if she wanted a beer?”. My sister explains what the nurse said. And then tells all of us what Leana thought she said. It was especially funny because Leana then said, “It was one thing for the nurse to ask you if you wanted a “beer” but then when you said yes and the nurse immediately called someone, I thought that was really strange!”.

__________

After pushing for about 3 hours my doctor checks to see if Pip had made any progress (nope!). He then says something about Pip didn’t have a handle to grab on it. My mom says, “There’s a handle?”.

__________

Unfortunately after about 32 hours of pretty intense labor my sister-in-law Leana was having second thoughts about ever having children of her own. But then when I got the epidural it was a huge transformation as I was able to sleep and all the moaning, groaning and pain was gone. Leana told me that there was now a little hope in her having kids. Sorry Leana!

__________

After finally agreeing to a C-Section the doctor is explaining everything and then says “If you have more children you can certainly try to have a vaginal delivery.”

And I say (very quickly), “Oh don’t worry, there won’t be more children!”

__________

We had told our first nurse about our miracle baby Angel and then how we surprisingly became pregnant with miracle baby Pip. After that every nurse, case worker or doctor that came in the room would say, “I heard about your story”. It was pretty cool how “our story” spread through the staff at the hospital. And then when Angel came to visit it was even better because we could introduce her to everyone. It was a blessing to share how we had been so greatly blessed!

3 thoughts on “Conversations…During Labor

    sincerelyanna said:
    January 2, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Isn’t it good to see the humor in everything? So good that you wrote all this down, the conversations are so funny!

    Mrs Lemon said:
    January 7, 2009 at 8:41 am

    a handle would certainly have come in handy. Love this!

    Kelly said:
    January 17, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    I love how “your story” was spread through the hospital and, no doubt, blessed others.

    Our “nightmare” of having Influenza A while going through labor and delivery, with our first child, made us famous at our hospital. When I went back to have our second child, I was constantly being told “Oh, I’ve heard about you!” Not exactly what I’d like to be known for, thanks!

Leave a Reply

