Works For Me Wednesday – Easy Meal To Make With Kids

Posted on

I think I’ve posted this recipe before but it’s been awhile. Plus it’s so much fun and so yummy I thought I’d share it again. But this time with pictures!

Princess was at a youth retreat this past weekend and she texted me Sunday at about 3:00 pm and asked if we could have mini pizzas for supper sometime this week. I hadn’t planned anything for Sunday night and needed to run to the store anyway so just picked up the few ingredients I didn’t have to make these.

And if any recipe is good to get your kids involved with, it’s this one. Belle, who I’ll remind you is 15 months old, helped me make these as you’ll see from the pictures. Although she got a little sauce on her fingers she did a great job helping and kept saying “good girl” over and over!

Here ya go: Mini Pizzas

ingredients
Refrigerator biscuits, the Grand kind
Pizza sauce
Shredded cheese, we used Colby & Monterey Jack because the store was out of Mozzerella
Pepperoni
Any other toppings you want. We’re a cheese and pepperoni family but anything works!

Open the biscuits and place them on a cutting board or counter.
Squish them out until they are, well I guess I didn’t measure them. They’re about “yay” big, whatever that means. And yes “squish” is an official cooking term.
squishing-biscuits1

For our family of 3 1/2 we use one container of biscuits, giving us 8 mini pizzas

Spoon sauce onto each biscuit and spread around.
spreading-sauce

Take the pepperoni and put 5-6 pieces on each biscuit. That’s Belle’s hand getting all full of sauce. Sorry it’s a little blurry. That little stinker was just too fast with the pepperoni!
belle-putting-pepperoni-on-pizza1

Cover each biscuit in shredded cheese. Again, Belle’s hand. She actually did a great job and didn’t spill too much on the floor for the doggies. See, easy peasy for kiddos!
belle-taking-cheese-out-of-bag

mmm, look at the cookies in the top right hand corner. I ate way too many of those babies!

Ok, back to pizza.

belle-putting-cheese-on-pizza

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Cook biscuits for… well I forgot to time it. I’m not so good with this recipe thing am I? I think it was about 15-20 minutes. Until they look like this:
finished-pizzas

Easy. Kid friendly. Yummy. Definitely works for me!

Stop by Rocks In My Dryer for more Works for me Wednesdays!

missy

9 thoughts on “Works For Me Wednesday – Easy Meal To Make With Kids

    Kim @ForeverWherever said:
    February 10, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    How fun! I just made pizzas on Tasty Tuesday! You should stop by one day with a recipe! Your photos were great!

    Jolene said:
    February 10, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    This looks like a great recipe for kids to make and eat! Thanks for sharing.

    Angie @ Many Little Blessings said:
    February 11, 2009 at 2:02 am

    Looks tasty! I know that my kids LOVE pizza!

    Mrs Lemon said:
    February 11, 2009 at 11:17 am

    looks delicious. I think I’d do that one just for moi.

    Teri said:
    February 11, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Yummy! I think hubby would enjoy these one of these days! I’ve made them on english muffins before, but never the biscuits!

    'Becca said:
    February 11, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    I have found I can get my 4-year-old to eat 1/2 cup of SPINACH by putting it on a mini pizza, between the cheese and the sauce. Put it on raw, and it’s cooked by the time the cheese is melted. I think it’s yummy, too!

    Candace said:
    February 11, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Those sound yummy!

    Jerri said:
    February 11, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Hmm… we just had pizza but these look so good, I want to try it again! Your pics were great.

    Diane said:
    February 11, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Those looks so delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

