Nothing Like A Near Death Experience To Remind You Of The Important Things

Posted on

Perhaps “near death” is a bit exaggerated but I was struggling for a post title so just went with it.

Unless you have a hidden camera in my house you wouldn’t know that I’ve been struggling with some health issues the past few weeks. No need to get into any details because they’re gross unimportant.  What’s important is that my doctor finally said I should come on in and take a looksy.

After questioning me for about 20 minutes and then doing an exam he determined that he thought I had an eptopic pregnancy. Oh that’s just swell.  So they took lots of blood and rushed me over to another location to get an ultrasound.

Can I just ask why in the world are we paying so much money for things like ultrasounds when the techs always ask us what they’re suppose to be seeing. This has happened to me before. She’s obviously looking at my innards on the screen and she says, “Do you still have your ovaries?” I so bad wanted to say, “Well you tell me.” But I didn’t. I politely said yes.

Anyway she finished the ultrasound and then said she would be back because she had to check the pictures. So we waited.

This was not fun. Because I envisioned her running down the hall, calling the doctor frantically and explaining to him what horrible killer of a mass she found in my belly. She returned about 15 minutes later to tell us they are rushing the images to the radioloist to read and that I should call my doctor in an hour with the results. Hubby says, “Did you see anything?” And she lied and said, “No the radiologist will read them.”

I return to work because I just really needed to get my mind of things. However on the way to work I did cry my eyes out because I had convinced myself all the rushing with no answers was not a good sign and I probably only had about 2 weeks to live. I kinda joke about it now but seriously I just cried out to the Lord and begged Him to not let it be anything serious.

I got to work and decided for some reason to quickly check my friend Anna’s blog. And I read this post.

Thank you Jesus. You are amazing.

Then my co-worker/friends all gathered together and prayed over me. And I bawled. And I felt peace.

I called the doctor about an hour and 15 minutes later and the receptionist said she’d have the nurse call me back. More waiting.

An hour later I still hadn’t heard anything so I called back. It was 4:00 pm by now and I was very clear with the receptionist that I needed to talk to someone. The doctor’s nurse got on the line and said they received preliminary results but were waiting for more information from the radioligst. She was going to call over there and then hope to call me back before 5:30 pm.

I left work at 5:00 pm with still no call. Although I had experienced about two hours of peace and calm I was starting to get anxious again. I hate that. I don’t know why I can’t just trust the Lord. In every situation. I just had this deep fear in my heart that something was seriously wrong.

At 6:00 pm the doctor called. Unfortunatley I was in the bathroom at the time and didn’t hear the phone ring. I had a voicemail and it was from the doctor. Not the doctor’s nurse, but the doctor. That was weird for me, I’ve never had the doctor call my house before. This is what he said:

“Things look ok. I’m going to call you back either later tonight or tomorrow and we can talk more.”

Um, ok. What in the world does that mean? I assume it’s not an eptopic pregnancy. He probably for sure would have called back. So I praise the Lord for that.

Unfortunately that’s the end of the story. For now. After stressing out about the call for about an hour I was able to watch our dvr’d American Idol. And hello people, why was Matt in the bottom two?

Like I said. It’s near death experiences that remind you of the important things in life.

Take care. I’ll keep ya posted!

missy

5 thoughts on “Nothing Like A Near Death Experience To Remind You Of The Important Things

    Kelly said:
    March 26, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    How scary! I’d be crying my eyes out as well! Praying for you tonight.

    Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

    John 14:27

    Blessings~

    Sarah said:
    March 26, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Missy,

    I pray you have a peaceful night and that you rest in Him… Will be praying for good results and an early morning phone call!!

    sincerelyanna said:
    March 26, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Oh Missy, I’ll pray for you to have a peaceful night as well. Actually, this week I was wondering the same thing, if I had an ectopic pregnancy or not. Seriously. It was bad but it seemed to go away in a day so I guess it was a ruptured cyst or something. I’m following up with my doctor next month after another cycle. I hope and pray that you get to to talk to the doctor and find out for sure what’s going on. If it was late in the day, maybe he just called instead of his nurse because she already left…that’s all.

    Dawn said:
    March 26, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Praying for you, Missy. This verse came to mind:

    “Thou wilt keep her in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee, because she trusteth in thee.” Isaiah 26:3

    Keep your thoughts fixed on Jesus! Love you!

    Marci said:
    March 27, 2009 at 12:18 am

    Hi,

    I jumped over from BooMama’s American Idol Post this afternoon and having time to kill I snooped around your blog a bit and really enjoyed reading your story. I came home late this evening after my Thursday “Girls night” and sat down to check email and updates before heading to bed. I had left your page up so instead of just closing it, I refreshed for some reason. I had a ruptured ectopic in January. I had one in March of 2000 that did not rupture. They were very different experinces but both difficult.

    I’m sure that the reason I refreshed rather than just closed was to be praying for your peace tonight. I’ve been there, in the waiting. God be with you, because we know he is always in the waiting!

Leave a Reply

