A Father’s Love

Posted on

I drove through the residential neighborhood on my way to work. The same neighborhood I drive through every morning. Only this morning I noticed something a little out of the ordinary. I drove by a house and saw a father and son outside. Playing catch with a baseball. I looked at my clock quickly. 7:48 am.

I was blown away by the demonstration of this father’s love. It might not seem like a big deal but I think it is. In today’s society of rush, rush, rush, there’s always something that HAS to get done. And usually that something doesn’t involve playing catch at 7:48 am. There’s cleaning to be done, work to do, bills to pay, tv to watch, places to go. It was so refreshing to see this father and son and I was gently reminded of what’s really important in life.

As much as it reminded me that I need to take time with my children it also reminded me of the time I must spend with my Heavenly Father. He longs for me to spend time with him. Through prayer and reading His Word.

The other morning Belle walked up to me and kept saying, “rock, rock, rock”. I had no idea what she meant and after about 50 “rocks” it finally hit me. She wanted to rock in the rocking chair in Pip’s bedroom. I scoop her up and we go into his room and rock. It was closing in on 7:30 am and I usually need to be on my way by 7:40 am. But thankfully I had been given a reminder from the Lord – the example of the father and son – and so we took some extra time, rocked and sang songs as she rested her head on my shoulder.

Oh how the Lord longs to scoop me into His arms and rock with me. He longs for me to be still in his presence, with my head on His shoulder, feeling the comfort and strength of His love. He longs for that with you too. My prayer for you today is that whether it’s playing catch or rocking in the rocking chair, that you would take time. If you’ve been blessed with children take time to cherish them.  But most importantly that you would take time to rest in the love of your Heavenly Father.

hubsandbelleatlake

“He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.” Psalm 91:4
missy

3 thoughts on “A Father’s Love

    sincerelyanna said:
    April 16, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Beautiful devotional post. Have a great day. Still praying for you and the decisions you are making.

      Teri said:
      April 16, 2009 at 1:08 pm

      great post, Missy! 🙂

    Emily E said:
    April 16, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    What a great reminder – thanks!

Leave a Reply

