7 Quick Takes Friday

Posted on

It’s 7 Quick Takes Friday time! Head over to Conversion Diary for more quick takes!

1. My new favorite song:

2. Hubby got his hands waxed over Easter weekend.

Don’t judge. He’s as manly as they come.

hubswax

It’s this neat little contraption my mom got. You heat the wax up and then dip your hand in a few times, put plastic gloves on first and then an oven mit type thing over the top of the plastic glove. You sit for 10-15 minutes and then it all peals off and you have amazingly soft hands.

I think poor Belle was tramatized!

3. Some people I’ve been praying for lately:

Stellen and the MckMama Family

April and Her Mama

The Daniel Family

4. My friends Emily and Heather are going away for a weekend of scrap-booking in a few weeks. I can’t go with them.

That’s all. Just wanted you to feel sorry for me.

Speaking of scrap-booking, tomorrow (Saturday) we are having a scrap-booking extravaganza! Hubby, Princess and I will be scrapbooking our brains out, trying to get everything ready for Princess’s graduation party.

5. Awhile back I shared that we were hoping to put our house on the market. Well the Realtor came over, did his whole analysis thing and can I just be honest and say he doesn’t know what he’s talking about? Yes, he might be one of the most successful Realtors in our town but I think he’s smoking crack or something.

Basically we couldn’t even break even if we sold it at the price he said we should sell it at. I know the market has tanked but it hasn’t been doing too bad where we live. Plus the house next to us is for sale – it’s older and smaller and they are asking $5K more then he said we should ask for ours.

I’m not upset about it, really.

Actually it’s probably a blessing because there’s only about a hundred other things going on in our life right now. And we are kind of excited to make some improvements and then not have to move and be all sad because we really like our house. So I guess it’s a good thing Mr Realtor is off his rocker!

6. (Skip number 6 if you don’t want to read gory details of my wacked out reproductive system)

On Friday, April 11th of last year I told Hubby I was going to call the doctor the following Monday to schedule a hysterectomy. I couldn’t handle all the crud I was dealing with. After many years of infertility our baby girl Belle had come home to us three months prior and we were so happy.  Well that phone call to the doctor never happened. Because that following Monday I realized I was ten days late and, oh ya, pregnant!

After experiencing what I’ve experienced the past two months I have been reminded again and again what a miracle Pip is. There’s no way my body should have been able to get pregnant. Thankfully though God’s timing is perfect and all things are possible with Him.

On Tuesday, April 28th, I will be doing what I intended to do a year ago. Only this time it’s not just because I want to, it’s because I have to.

I continue to have very very heavy bleeding and intense cramp-like pains. I’m still on the highest dose possible of progesterone and antibiotics and it continues to get worse. It’s really annoying having to bring an extra set of clothes to work, just in case. Although the doctor said we could start by just doing exploratory surgery I decided to skip all that and have the hysterectomy.  Please pray that I make it til then without losing my mind!

7. I’m sure many of you have already seen the sensation from Britian’s Got Talent, Susan Boyle. Last time I checked the video on You Tube has gotten over 15 million hits!

The most sensational part was of course that most everyone was judging her by her outward appearance before she sang even one note. And of course by the end she was receiving a standing ovation.

But it makes me wonder. When we experience things like this, does it change us? Do we realize that we were wrong in making an assumption and judging a person by their outside appearance and ask God to help us not to do that? To love people regardless of what they look like? Or do we see something like this, allow it to effect us for a few minutes or hours, and then go on with our life, never changing or allowing it to have any effect on us permanently?

Are we allowing God to mold us and change us and shape us to be more like Him? In every circumstance, in everything we see, in everything we do. There is a lesson to be learned and there is something that God can teach us.

So how about you? What is God teaching you today?

“I applied my heart to what I observed and learned a lesson from what I saw” Proverbs 24:32

missy

2 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday

    Amy said:
    April 17, 2009 at 7:57 am

    The negative comments about Susan Boyle’s appearance have really been bugging me, too– in fact, that’s the topic of my first Quick Take note today.

    If you’ll be posting your scrapbooking fun you should check out my Sunday meme- Sunday Scrappin’. 🙂 Have fun!

    My 7 Quick Takes are HERE if you’d like to drop by. 🙂

    Jenny said:
    April 17, 2009 at 10:06 am

    #1 – Oh my, me too! I burst into tears EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. the choir starts in, I just can’t help it

    Love you, friend. Have a happy weekend.

Leave a Reply

