A Different Kind of Sisterhood

Posted on Updated on

Last month my friend Sarah awarded me my first ever blog award. I had just finished preparing my acceptance speech when I realized a blog award is just that. An award for my blog and I don’t win anything else or get to give a speech. I still was very touched and honored. There is a special rule with blog awards in that you have to pass them on. And so that’s what I want to do today.

sisterhoodaward

The award is the Sisterhood Award. This is different from the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, which I’ve seen way too many times. And it’s different from the Sisterhood of the Skinny Pants, which I will probably be getting kicked out of soon for my lack of weight loss and excessive twinkie consumption.

I find it such a blessing to blog. Most importantly of course I get to share about the love of Jesus and share about my amazing family. But it’s also been a blessing because I’ve gained some amazing “sisters” and made some great friends. Not “blog” friends. Not “real life” friends. Just friends. Because I don’t think there’s any difference. It doesn’t matter that I haven’t met some of these friends face to face. Each and every day they encourage me and make me laugh and they are often the first I turn to when I need advice or a shoulder to cry on. I’ve been fortunate enough to be blessed with a wonderful sister and three sister-in-laws. But I’ve also been blessed with many “sisters” through blogland and so today I’m passing on the Sister Award to these fine ladies:

Real Mama – Jenny has become one of my closest friends. I found her blog two years ago when we were hoping to adopt from Ethiopia. The thing I probably love about her most is that she is not afraid to be truthful and honest and speak her mind. Hhmm, sound familiar? She is an amazing mom and has helped me on more than one occasion get through a “crisis” with one of the babies. I know that if we lived closer we would be having playdates at least once a week. And someday I will meet her face to face. I promise!

Sincerely Anna – I can’t remember how I met Anna originally but it was early on in my blog life. When you read Anna’s blog you’ll either laugh until you cry. Or cry until you laugh. And that’s a good thing. She is so real and compassionate and open about the ups and downs of being a mom. She has taught me so much and I’m so thankful to know her.

Coffee at the Cabin – I promise I am not awarding this award to her because she awarded it to me. She truly has become a sister to me. The only thing that sometimes makes me uncomfortable is when I share really personal details of my life on my blog and then I see her during the week or on Sunday morning I think “oh no, I bet she read my blog today!”. 🙂 She has inspired me in so many ways through her blog. She encourages me to be a better wife and mother and always direct me to God’s Word and the love of Christ. I am so blessed to have her as a sister!

Emily Eggebraaten Photography – This is my friend Emily’s blog and she also has a new photography business and you can link to that website through her blog. She takes amazing pictures and is one funny chick. We also have so many things in common it’s almost ridiculous. However one of those things is not our picture taking ability. She is an amazing photographer and I’m so excited she’s taking on this new adventure because maybe I’ll finally be able to get some good pictures of my babies!

Learning Patience – Jen was another one of the very first blogs I read. In fact her’s was THE very first. She found me through a forum I had joined as we hoped to adopt through Ethiopia. Jen’s blog is so down to earth and captivating as she shares the highs and lows of being a mom to four kiddos. Jen was also probably the first blog that reminded me it’s important to keep all this blog stuff in perspective. That it’s ok to take a break every once in awhile. She’s caring and kind and her faith shines through her life in everything she does.

Infertility Chronicles – I love this sister so much. Teri is in the middle of a journey that I painfully went through. She blogs about the lows and the really lows of infertility but through it all she has kept her eyes on God. She is real and honest and I pray for her every single day that God will give her the desire of her heart.

Hopes and Dreams – This is my friend Dawn’s blog. Dawn has been my “sister” for over ten years. When I was in college she was in high school and her mom and dad were my mentors. Me and a few of my friends would go over to their house at least once a week for supper, to hang out or play games. We would laugh and laugh and laugh. And now years later it’s been such a joy to reconnect through our blogs. She shares about her life as a mom, wife and follower of Christ. And she encourages me and inspires me daily.

(The remaining “sisters” don’t know I exist but I still love their blogs and am encouraged by them daily. So they get an award too!)

Queen B – I’ve been reading Queen B since she signed up for one of my bloggy giveaways two years ago and won the book Sent and Received (a book written by my previous Senior Pastor about his late wife’s battle with cancer). Her daughter’s name is Princess. In blogland anyway. I’m pretty sure it’s not really Princess. They have recently been asked (by God) to adopt a little girl from Guatemala. They have a long road ahead of them and covet our prayers. Oh ya. She’s also so funny I’ve come close to peeing my pants a few times while reading her blog.

April Rose – I’ve come to love this precious young girl who is carrying a child with a disease that is fatal. She was encouraged to abort the child early on in the pregnancy because there was no way it would make it to term. Well guess what. She’s 40 weeks today! How awesome is that. The baby is doing really well although the prognosis still isn’t good. The thing I especially love about this girl is that she made a mistake. She admitted that mistake. She repented and confessed that mistake to the Lord. And is now walking with Him again and reaching out to others and sharing the love of Christ (hhmmm, that sounds familiar too!).

The Williams Family – Their baby boy was born with EB. Their first son was born stillborn at 37 weeks and they are pretty sure he died from EB. Jonah is doing well although there are good days and bad days. Patrice is the mom and she blogs very honestly about her struggles and joys and always directs us to the love of the Father. She’s been a great encouragement to me in so many ways.

Well there ya have it! I hope you’ll take some time and visit these blogs. And I hope that you’ve been blessed to find some “sisters” in blogland. And if so feel free to spread the love and give this award away. Here are the rules:

1. Put the logo on your blog or post.
2. Nominate up to 10 blogs which show great attitude and/or gratitude!
3. Be sure to link your nominees within your post.
4. Let them know that they have received this award by commenting on their blog.
5. Remember to link the person from whom you received your award.

missy

4 thoughts on “A Different Kind of Sisterhood

    Jenny said:
    May 21, 2009 at 5:30 am

    Oh, thank you, dear friend. I needed some cheering up (because, yet again, those situations didn’t work out for us). We would certainly have regular play dates if we didn’t live so stinkin’ far apart. Can’t wait for a face to face someday! Off to read some of your links…

    Sarah said:
    May 21, 2009 at 8:23 am

    I love that you keep a blog that is real, honest, and down to earth. You are not just someone from my church, you are a fellow believer who has hopes, joys, and sorrows just like the rest of us. You have been such a witness to others through this medium, and I find it a privilege to call you friend and sister in Christ!

    Dawn Becker said:
    May 21, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    Wow! My first ever blog award!!! I’m so honored and I’d just like to thank my director, my producer, the cast and crew…

    Just kidding! But seriously, thanks Missy! =)

    I also have to say that Pip is getting so big and is SO STINKIN’ CUTE! I think he and Taylor could be brothers – with their round faces and big blue eyes. =)

    Love you! Have a great Memorial weekend!

    learningpatience said:
    May 25, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Thank you – you are so sweet! It’s been a week (+) of blah around here, so it was good to get a a sweet surprise! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

