Belle’s First Fish

Posted on

We spent Memorial Day weekend at my parent’s house and we were so excited because it was going to be Belle’s first time fishing. They live on the Missouri River and we try to get there as much as we can during the warm months. We love to fish and boat and enjoy the beauty of God’s creation and considering that Belle’s absolute favorite place to be is outside chasing some type of animal we knew she would love it too.

Only I forgot the camera and Hubby was so annoyed with me he threw me in the 40 degree water.

Just kidding. He was annoyed. But only because I kept saying over and over, “I can’t believe I forgot the camera!”. I still can’t believe it. Thankfully someone saw fit to invent a cell phone with a camera and so although our fishing experience is a little blurry it wasn’t entirely lost.

Belle’s Dora the Explorer life jacket fit her perfect. And she didn’t even complain about wearing it. I remember being so freaked out about our dogs walking on the dock and the boat thinking they were going to fall in and drown. Poor Belle is going to have to deal with her worrisome mother for many years to come. The life jacket relaxed me just a little though. This is our first picture. We had just arrived on the dock. I’m not sure what she’s looking at. She could be looking at the boat thinking to herself, “Wow, that’s a big boat!”. Or maybe the look is just her wondering what kind of torture her mom is going to put her through to get good pictures for the blog?

Belle looking at boat

Belle also has a Dora the Explorer fishing pole and so we got it all rigged up and ready to go. Here she is putting on the minnow:
Holding minnow

I’m just kidding. She might be amazing but she can’t bait her own hook yet. But she does love animals and loves to hold and kiss them. And I guess catch them on a hook and eat them for supper!

Now we wait. As you can tell she is thrilled by this little adventure we have taken her on. But she certainly waited patiently.
Waiting

As we waited Pip rolled around on the bottom of the boat and laughed. I’m pretty sure he was laughing at us for telling Belle she was going to catch a fish.
Pip laughing

Oh but Pip hadn’t realized that we prayed to Jesus. Belle and I said, “Jesus please let us catch a fish”. Here we are, although to be perfectly honest I don’t think we were praying here. I think I was telling Belle to not worry about it when she catches a fish and everyone else gets jealous. Belle was thinking, “I wonder if Mama would get mad if I jumped in the water.”
Mommy teaching Belle

And wouldn’t you know it, about 3 minutes after we prayed to Jesus, Belle got a bite. And again I should be totally honest. Hubby reeled it in for Belle because she couldn’t quite figure that out. But she helped.
Realing it in

My dad (Papa), Hubby and I were so excited. But Belle didn’t even smile. She just stood there all calm, cool and collected. No big deal I guess. Another day. Another fish.
belle first fish

Then Papa told her to kiss it. And since she has no fear of anything she did what he said. Or tried to anyway. He was quick enough to stop her before she actually kissed it.
Kiss

Poor Pip was distraught because he wanted to catch a fish. But Papa told us that we only get one miracle a day.
pip and mommy hanging out

And he was right. We didn’t get another fish that day. But we look forward to many more fishing days and hopefully many more fish!

missy

6 thoughts on “Belle’s First Fish

    Wendi (Hellman) Michaelson said:
    June 2, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    I love the picture with Uncle Albert holding the fish. If I didn’t know better I would think that was my dad’s hand!! ……that’s so neat…..

      Missy said:
      June 2, 2009 at 7:51 pm

      I KNOW! Isn’t that funny! We need to have a Hellman reunion soon! Our babies are growing up too fast!

    Jenny said:
    June 2, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    You’re a better mom than I am, I don’t know if I would let Josh on a boat at all! And, friends or not, I will N E V E R touch a fish. Or a worm.

    hubby said:
    June 3, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    …suck it up jenny… 🙂

    Jenny said:
    June 3, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Oh goodness. I literally choked laughing. Ya all, we need a get together!

    Emily E said:
    June 3, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Um, LOVE the lifejacket!

Leave a Reply

