Weekend Wrap Up

Posted on

I could probably sum up our weekend in about four words but I think instead I’ll give you the long, boring version.

What else is new, right?!

Friday night started out with my good friend Liz coming to spend the night. She recently moved about four hours away from us and it was so good to see her. She is one of Belle’s God-parents although Belle doesn’t really like the extra attention she gets when we have visitors. Ha!

Liz and I ran to the grocery store and I couldn’t believe how weird it felt. I think it was the first time I’d been to the store with someone other than my Hubby or kiddos in a very long time. I almost felt guilty. That guilt changed to pure joy when I was able to get in and our of the store with what I needed in a matter of 6 minutes.

We all went to bed early Friday night and were hoping to sleep in Saturday morning. Pip had other plans and was up and at’em at 6:00 am. Belle was close behind and up around 7:00 am. It was an icky rainy day here so we pretty much spent the entire day laying around in our pj’s, watching cartoons, building forts, reading books, and eating lots of food.

Oh yes. We built forts. Unfortunately I’m a pathetic fort builder and so Belle was bored after about 10 minutes. But those 10 minutes were fun while it lasted.

fort1

fort2

The big event of the weekend was our scheduled photo shoot with my friend Emily who recently started her own photography business. We haven’t had professional pictures taken of the kiddos for about 4 months because the last time was a complete and utter failure. I’ve certainly taken many pictures of them myself since then but nothing professional so I was so excited for our photo shoot. I ignored one of Emily’s suggestions and brought about 5 changes of clothes. Although I think I ended going with just 3 different outfits each. She spend an hour with us but it seemed like alot longer because she took so many pictures. They should be ready sometime this week for us to look at. She’s already told me that some of them are really funny. Do you think she means good funny or bad funny?

Saturday night we watched Finding Nemo and ate an outrageous amount of popcorn. We just recently let Belle start eating popcorn and she loves it. She kept trying to steal the bowl from me.

Sunday was another early day. If you have been able to sleep past 6:00 am in the past 2 years please count your blessings, ok. Pip was up at 6 and Belle up at 7. Gee, do you think we have a routine or what? We decided to make a big breakfast so we made french toast, eggs and bacon. But I think I used too much milk because the french toast was really soggy and gross. I’m sure Hubby was so glad to have gotten out of bed for my version of breakfast. We then had to rush to make it to church by 9:30 as we decided to take part in a parenting Bible study. It’s a great study and after only one class I’ve already learned so much. I’ll share more about that in a separate post.

We then attempted to go to church at 11:00 and made it through the praise and worship. Belle and Pip love that part of the service but as soon as the part begins where they have to be quiet they don’t like that so much. Pip was getting tired and when he gets tired he cries and so Hubby took him out. Then Belle started saying stuff like “all done” and “snack” and “drink” only she hasn’t quiet grasped the meaning of her inside voice. So about 5 minutes after Hubby and Pip left me and Belle left. Our nursery isn’t staff at 11:00 so we sat in there with the kids. Last time we did this it was great because we were the only ones in there and we listened to the service on the tv. Well this week there were five other toddlers and their moms in the room so it was a little more difficult to hear, especially when Hubby started tickling Pip and making him laugh. So really it didn’t matter that there were other kids and moms, it was all Pip’s fault. Doesn’t he know there’s no laughing at church!

Now, now. I’m just kidding.

Anyway we then drug our weary selves home and picked up lunch, otherwise known as fast food. And this is my favorite part of the weekend. Belle went down for a nap. Pip went down for a nap. And they both slept for 2 1/2 hours. And me being the wonderful mom and housewife that I am, I slept too and decided the housework could wait til later. After naps we bundled up (it was still pretty chilly outside) and walked a few houses down to a garage sale where I found some great toys and cute clothes for Pip for this Fall.

Our Sunday evening ended with Hubby going to bed early (he’d been feeling sick all weekend), me taking care of a crabby Pip while trying to play with and keep Belle happy. 8:30 pm came upon us quickly and it was time for her to go to bed. Pip was still being crabby though and so I held him while he slept and watched my DVR’d Food Network Star and Iron Chef America, finally going to bed around 10:30 pm.

Here’s my Pip boy before he got cranky:

Pip_sitting

Hey Pippy, stop with the growing already, ok!

This is really random but I don’t think I’ve ever told you that we call our little baby boy Pip or Pippy in real life. Just so ya know.

And now another week is upon us. It hasn’t started out so well. I had to take Pip to the doctor – will share more on that later. I’m feeling horrible – counting down the days til my surgery. The hospital called today and our insurance says Pip isn’t on the policy. Oh so that’s why we’ve been paying an extra $150 a month since December!

However the day has ended on a high note. We got a call from a Realtor who flips houses and we were hoping he was going to buy our house. No, he’s not able to do that (which we figured) but he said if we wanted to list it he would list it for an amount that is way more reasonable than what the first Realtor told us. We might still get another opinion, we’re just praying through all our options.

And then tonight I left two crabby crying babies with Hubby and went on a girls night out. Me and about 10 other gals went to the movie Up. It was awesome and we laughed our heads off and had a blast. Just what I needed to make it 8 more days til JEEP CAMP and VACATION!

Time for bed. And hopefully I won’t be blogging at 4 am tonight. Please Lord!

missy

3 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

    Jenny said:
    June 9, 2009 at 6:00 am

    A. I stink at fort building also

    B. Pip – COULD HE BE ANY CUTER???

    C. Stupid insurance! Their fault! When’s your surgery again??

    Love you!

    Teri said:
    June 9, 2009 at 8:43 am

    What a weekend! Glad that everyone seems to be on the mend now!

    MOM said:
    June 9, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Are his feet really that big?????? (Or is that just the camera and the same way we take pictures of the fish we catch to try to make them look bigger???!!!!???)
    Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

