The One With All The Doctor Visits

Posted on

Remember yesterday when I mentioned that our insurance is saying that Pip is not on the policy. That’s not so good considering we’ve been visiting the doctor at least once a week lately. Thankfully it’s something that Hubby’s work will be able to easily take care of – we’ve been paying for insurance since he was born so I’m assuming it was all just a miscommunication.

Anyway you all know about Pip’s problem with eczema. The worst of it was two weekends ago. We had went back to the yucky expensive formula but it did seem to help a little. It wasn’t completely gone but better. Well we were on day 4 of eating oatmeal (Pip, not all of us) and he broke out really bad very quickly. It was on both cheeks, his arms, chest and stomach and was this horrible bright red. It just looked awful and of course he itched it and made it worse. I though it was kinda weird that it took until day 4 but that happened with the rice cereal too. We stopped the oatmeal but it didn’t get better. That was Friday and by Sunday night it was still very bad. I was able to get him into the doctor on Monday (this would have been June 1st) and I was so thankful because the doctor was finally able to see his skin in a bad breakout.

He said it’s unlikely that he’s allergic to wheat or gluten this young but it certainly appears that’s the problem. His eczema is moderate to moderate/severe but the doctor was hesitant to do any testing or give any type of allergy medicine until Pip is at least 6 months old. He gave us a steriod cream, some tips on how to treat the eczema and we planned to possibly do more testing at his 6 month appointment in a few weeks.

I was very hesitant to use the steroid cream because almost everyone I’ve talked to about said it’s bad bad and they wouldn’t use it. Ok, so report me as being the world’s worst mother but we decided to use it. And the very next day the eczema was completely cleared up. He looked like a totally different baby. I used just a tiny bit 2 times and I don’t know if it was that or just the oatmeal out of his system. But I was so excited that we finally got things under control.

This post should be titled “the one where the mama is naive”.

Three days later, Thursday, June 4th we noticed that on his neck, way underneath in between the folds of skin, it was getting very red and raw and was actually an open wound. It looked horrible and at that point was about two inches long, maybe 1/2 ways across his neck. We went into acute care that night and they said it was a yeast infection and gave us a cream to put on it.

Well it spread like crazy and by Sunday night it was all the way across his neck and spreading down his chest. We could tell it bothered him because he wasn’t eating well or sleeping well. Thankfully once again I got into the doctor on Monday morning. Exactly one week after our appointment for him to look at the eczema.

I was very surprised when the doctor said the infection was related to the eczema. I guess it spread and then isn’t able to dry and turns into the yeast infection. He immediately said we need to get into see a dermatologist and again went through some steps to treat it. At acute care Thursday night they hadn’t told us the importance of keeping it dry but I suppose I should have known that. The doctor said that was the most important thing. In fact every two hours we should even take a blow dryer on low setting, far enough away so it’s not too hot and blow the area dry.

Um, sorry. Pip is not down with that.

I know this isn’t life threatening and I hate to even share my concern or frustration because there are so many little babies that are hurting with much more serious conditions. However, that doesn’t change the fact that it hurts me so much to see Pip suffer like this. He’s still not eating the best but he did sleep good last night, getting up just one time to have a little snack. This morning now he has little pimple bumps spreading all over – his hands, mouth, under his eye, forehead, chest, legs, behind. It almost looks like chicken pox. And the hardest part is we just have to wait to get into the dermatologist and even then who knows how long before it’s under control. We’re on an emergency waiting list and so we don’t really know when we’ll get in, they’ll call us when there’s a cancellation and so we’ll have very short notice.

It’s very deceiving because the worst of it is so far under his chin, under all that flabby adorable skin!

As you can see most of the time this hasn’t really phased him – other than the not eating or sleeping so well. A huge praise is that the worst part that was on his cheeks is almost completely gone.

pip_skin1

Here’s his hand which is the worst part after his neck:

pip_skin 2

His chest and arms. Kinda hard to see. This looks really really good compared to last weekend. It’s the little pimple blister things that are spreading. And I feel kinda lame even showing this picture because it doesn’t look that bad. And compared to many others it’s probably not bad but this picture doesn’t show the full extent of it.

pip_skin 3

And here’s Pippy’s neck. He wasn’t happy so we had to take it kinda quick, thus the blurry:

pip_skin 4

I don’t know about you but I think that’s gross and I can’t imagine how much it must hurt.

That’s about all the news I have. Like I said we are waiting now for the derm to call and then we go from there. Please pray with us that we get a good dermatologist and can get a good treatment.

6 thoughts on “The One With All The Doctor Visits

    MamaRazzi said:
    June 9, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Missy, I don’t know if I have been missing this whole saga on here, but I am so thankful you blogged about this. Our Bub is dealing with the same sort of stuff. His is mild compared to PIp’s but I have been debating what foods to start eliminating. Bub’s is really bad on his legs and is starting to spread to his torso, and his hands. POOR PIP!!! I think I am going to call our pediatrician tomorrow and get him in. I have been writing it off as really dry skin, then a few weeks ago I decided it is probalby more than that. So we have been using over the counter eczema cream and it’s not even touching it. Whew! I am so glad that we aren’t the only ones dealing with this!! 🙂

    Mandy Small said:
    June 9, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    That looks miserable! Poor guy. Praying that you get answers and something that works soon!

    Dawn Becker said:
    June 9, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Oh, my goodness! Poor baby! Ugh, that looks just miserable and I feel so bad for poor little Pip. It always makes me feel bad when they can’t talk and tell us how they’re feeling!

    We dealt with much of the same stuff with T, so I know how you’re feeling. It’s so tough. You’re doing the best you can. Hang in there! You’re an amazing mommy and Pip (and Belle) are blessed to have you!

    Jenny said:
    June 9, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Poor pippy! His neck looks like it hurts, poor guy. It’s not your fault, Missy. Remember that. You’ll get it figured out!

    Danelle said:
    June 10, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    hi sister. after spending the day with him today, he is the toughest little dude. considering how uncomfortable he must be he was such a good boy!

    Leana Hellman said:
    June 10, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Poor baba! I will definitely pray for him! Hang in there Missy and Pip!

Leave a Reply

