Works for me Wednesday

Posted on

Issue: Need to go to the grocery store with 19 month old and 5 month old – by yourself – to pick up prescription and a few groceries.

Solution: Stop in snack food isle. Locate 8-pack of individually boxed raisins. Take one box out of pack, open it and give it to 19 month old to snack on. Put the rest of the pack in your cart to purchase. This has given you approximately 13 1/2 minutes to complete your shopping.

When you check out if you get any grief from the cashier for opening the package smile sweetly and say:

“Obviously you have never had to buy groceries with a 19 month old and 5 month old – both of whom are tired, cranky and hungry – by yourself. Please ring up my groceries and we will be on our way. If you would like to see the worlds most amazing temper tantrum take just a few minutes longer and my 19 month old will oblige. Thank you and have a nice day.”

Works for me!

Check out other good suggestions over at We Are That Family.

4 thoughts on “Works for me Wednesday

    Teri said:
    June 10, 2009 at 9:12 am

    You are hilarious 🙂 Thanks for the smiles!

    singspeakgloryseek said:
    June 10, 2009 at 10:53 am

    NOT Angel????!!!!???!!!!!!

    Dawn Becker said:
    June 10, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Ha! Love it. I did the same thing with fruit snacks one time. I even opened a package of pacifiers and gave one to T because we had lost his and desperate times called for desperate measures. The college-age clerk looked at me with minor disgust, and I gave her the stink eye. I wasn’t in the mood to explain myself – she’ll understand when she has her own little cherub someday. =)

      Missy said:
      June 12, 2009 at 12:32 pm

      Dawn, I had to laugh out loud about opening the pacifiers. Why hadn’t I thought of that!!??!!

Leave a Reply

