My Adventures in Baby Wearing

Posted on

A blog I read almost every day, Adventures in Babywearing, is having a little carnival today for all us baby wearing moms to show off our baby wearing slings and wraps and such.

I don’t know about the rest of y’all showing off your baby wearing but I’ve been very nervous to post my pictures. I’m definitely an amateur when it comes to baby wearing and the more I look at the pictures the more I think I’m pretty much guilty of child abuse. I read every instruction book and watched about 43 You Tube videos but still, I’m a little hesitant. Oh well.

I bought my Moby Wrap when Belle came home to us but she didn’t really like it and I wasn’t good about sticking with it.  I did go to a friends house who is a devoted baby wearer and she showed me some good tricks so by the time Pip arrived I was much more comfortable using it. I also went and bought a ring sling after Pip came although I’m not entirely sure that’s the right name.

I use the ring sling most of the time, especially now that Pip is close to 20 lbs – my back and arms just can’t take carrying him around all the time. I’m hoping to start using it with Belle too because her favorite saying these days is “hold you?”. And when I say “these days” I mean all day every day.

Disclaimer: If you go into cardiac arrest after seeing these pictures (because I’m baby wearing all wrong) Grasp the Love is not responsible your emotional or physical well being.

Here’s Pip right after he was born. Don’t worry he was able to breathe just fine (I think-now I’m doubting myself).

Pip newborn

And here’s the chunky chunk today, almost 6 months old!

Pip in moby

I was able to find just one picture of me and Belle in the wrap:

Belle baby

Ick, that’s a bad picture. Plus I think she’s mad at me, which she was every time I tried to stick her in it.

Here’s Pippy today in the ring sling:

Pip 6 mo

And after staging our picture – me and Belle are both in agreement that we are going to have to baby wear more often:

Belle on sling

There ya have it. All the baby wearing adventure I could come up for you. Stop over at Adventures in Babywearing and check out more baby wearing mamas!

missy

11 thoughts on “My Adventures in Baby Wearing

    Adventures In Babywearing said:
    June 12, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Oh, you’re doing great! I am so glad you played along.

    Steph

      Missy said:
      June 12, 2009 at 2:17 pm

      Whew! Thanks for stopping over and thanks for the great encouragement to baby wear!

    Amber said:
    June 12, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I’m sure your little guy was able to breathe. He’s alive and well to tell the tale, after all. 🙂

    And I think you’re doing a great job wearing your babies. No trauma here!

      Missy said:
      June 12, 2009 at 2:18 pm

      Good point – he obviously made it through ok! 🙂

    mamarissa said:
    June 12, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    I LOVE how small and cozy newborns look in wraps! It’s a great stage in the world of babywearing 🙂

    And your boy is SO AMAZINGLY CUTE! Love those cheeks. 🙂

      Missy said:
      June 12, 2009 at 2:18 pm

      I know! And it was so much easier on the back! 🙂 Yes he’s quite the charmer. And he loves being wrapped because he can bounce to his hearts content!

    Carrie said:
    June 12, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Awww…cute! Looks like you are doing just fine with babywearing! 🙂 What a couple little cuties you have!!! 🙂

    Marcela said:
    June 12, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    I love the black polka dot, looks like a great going out sling…hmm with the little black dress ( : I’ve heard lots of good things about the Moby wrap, but have never gotten a chance to try it… you look like a GREAT babywearer!

    Upstatemomof3 said:
    June 13, 2009 at 2:32 am

    Personally I love my wrap – although I do not have a ring sling and would love the chance to play with one a bit more. You look great in the wrap – I have countless pictures of my daughter and I that look like that.

    Melissa said:
    June 13, 2009 at 3:24 am

    I worried the first few times i weared him hhehe but than I built my confidence and now I love it so much

    Shelly said:
    June 17, 2009 at 6:38 am

    Love your ring sling, it’s so fun!!

Leave a Reply

