Weekend Plans

Posted on Updated on

I usually don’t post about our weekend plans because we usually do something different so then I have to post again to tell you what we really did. Oh well, I’ve decided I felt the need to blog and I’m too lazy to load pictures so I’m going to tell you about our weekend plans and we’ll see how it goes.

Well first let me back up.

What day is it today? Friday, right? After having surgery on Monday I’m so confused. About what day it is. Just to be clear.

My sister was here Wednesday and Thursday to help me with the babies. She’s a life saver and we had a good couple days. Belle had a blast. Aunt Nellie is her most favorite person in the whole wide world.

I’m feeling pretty good. As long as I don’t sweep and vacuum and do dishes and pick up toys and not take my pain pills. I know, I know, stop being an idiot. But I’m so worried we’re going to get a call about someone wanting to see the house and they are going to see the clump of dog hair on the carpet or trip on the toy that Belle left on the floor and then it’ll all be over, ya know.

Anyway, like I said, I’m feeling pretty good. I’m only taking a pain pill maybe twice a day, otherwise just Advil is doing the trick. I had the “robot” version of a hysterectomy which has a much shorter recovery time, less pain, etc. I should be off work for only 2 weeks and hopefully by next week I’ll be feeling alot better.

Hubby came down with a cold last night. Of course. It seems that every time I get sick or I have surgery or something that requires him to take care of me he gets sick. I’m beginning to think that he subconsciously does not want to take care of me. Or maybe he just gets sick alot. So today I bought him some Airbornne which I heard is amazing. We’ll see.

We had a birthday party today – our niece’s daughter turned 1. It was a great party. Amazing chocolate cake. Which almost made up for the chocolate cake that I did not get at the hospital. And then we went home and got ready for Gloria and Pastor Kirk and their boys to come over for supper.

I have a dilemma because I don’t know what to call them. Gloria is one of our babysitters (and Belle’s other most favorite person in the world). Pastor Kirk is our pastor. He’s also my boss (kinda – I have another boss but he’s the Pastor so he’s the boss boss). They are also our friends. So do I say “our friends who babysit our kids and pastor us”? That sounds weird. How about just friends. Because they might not always be our babysitter or pastor or boss. But they’ll always be our friends.

I’m pretty sure this post should have been called “Be warned this post is really random and is written by a post-operative incoherent person who is taking strong pain pills”.

So anyway our friends Kirk and Gloria and their boys came over for supper tonight and we had a great time visiting. Belle had a great time jumping on Kirk and making Gloria play horsey. And Gloria got Pip to stop crying. He’s teething and has a cold and wanted to be bounced but bouncing isn’t so easy for me right now. I wonder if she’d mind me calling her at three in the morning.

Oh ya I did learn a trick today from Grama Barb (Pat’s mom) about Pip. When he gets tried he gets cranky and screams and wants to bounce and sometimes nothing will console him. At the birthday party today Grama Barb started singing “rock-a-bye-baby” to him and he stopped crying. Well I’ve tried singing to him before and he just screams louder. I was thinking he was traumatized by my singing voice but it turns out he just doesn’t like any song other than rock-a-bye-baby. Because tonight at bedtime he was crying again and I starting singing that to him and he stopped crying and went right to sleep. Sweet, huh! Although this is a little disturbing to me because why do I want to sing about my baby falling from a tree? Who ever wrote that song, anyway? Obviously someone desperate to get their baby to stop crying!

Yikes, this post is really long and I haven’t even gotten to the main idea yet. Ya know our weekend plans. I’ll make it short and sweet from here on out.

Hello?

Tomorrow for lunch we’re going over to Hubby’s aunt and uncle’s house to grill out. And then around 4-5 we’re going to Hubby’s brother’s house (the same place we had the birthday party today) to hang out and eat. Hopefully it’ll be nice enough to play on their amazing play set and swim.

I would like to say that this is the first year in probably ten years that I have not went to my parent’s for the 4th of July. I’m a little traumatized by this. We’ve already had a great weekend and I’m sure it’ll continue to be great but change isn’t easy. I’ve shared before that my parents live on the Missouri River and at the resort where their boat is parked they have a boat parade and then a huge fireworks show. The boats all park (I don’t think that’s the right word) out in the marina for the fireworks show and it seems like the fireworks are going to fall right on top of you. It’s cool, really. Anyway, I’m glad we’re spending the holiday at home. Not only because I’m not feeling 100% yet but because it’ll be nice to be with Hubby’s family but I’m also going to miss the festivities at my parent’s.

On Sunday Princess leaves for FLY – the Free Lutheran Youth Convention in Estes Park, CO. It’s a week-long camp and it’s amazing and our church has about 120 kids and adults going. It’s going to be great and even though we’re sad we aren’t going along this year we’ll be praying for many changed lives!

And then a new week begins and I’ll be looking forward to enjoying it at home with my babies. Hopefully with less pain and no need for pain pills. And hopefully I won’t have to print a retraction letting you know what we really did this weekend!

Have a great 4th of July!

missy

3 thoughts on “Weekend Plans

    sincerelyanna said:
    July 4, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Whew! I’ve been on pain meds too this week so I understand! Hope you can rest some more, though. It sounds like you’re much too busy and you and your hubby just need to sit down on the couch and veg. You have amazing friends who take care of you! Hope you enjoy the 4th and hope Princess has fun in Estes Park. We’ve been there once and it’s gorgeous!

    Dawn said:
    July 4, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I can’t believe everything you’re juggling right after surgery! Selling your house, birthday parties, having people over for dinner, etc. Wow. I hope this weekend you get lots of opportunities to slow down and put your feet up.

    So I heard an alternative to the baby-falling-out-of-the-tree part of that song. Ready?

    When the bough breaks
    My baby won’t fall
    ‘Cuz I’ll catch you, Baby
    Cradle and all

    Isn’t that SO much better??? Seems so much sweeter and comforting. =)

    Happy 4th! Love you!

    Sarah said:
    July 5, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    So glad the surgery went well and I KNOW you will be feeling better soon. And, it is sooooooo worth it! đŸ˜‰ Just think about that next month, and the next month, and the next month…

    BTW, for my kids it was “You are my sunshine..” – calmed them down every time. Wierd.

    Take care of yourself – pamper while you can!

Leave a Reply

