A day in the life…part 2

Posted on

I shared yesterday about half of my restful and relaxing day at my parent’s house. After our lunch we went down to the boat for a little swim.

Here’s my mom and Belle.
2-mom and belle

It was our first time swimming in the river this year and I wasn’t sure how Belle would like it. Although if I thought about how much she loves to take baths and swim in her pool at home I should have known.

Here’s Belle and Aunt Nellie getting ready to get in.
2-belle and nellie on boat

And there she goes.
2-belle getting in water

All was going great until…
2-nellie and belle floating

My parent’s dog Cobo decided that he wanted to float on the raft too.
2-cobo floating 2

You’ve got to be kidding me.
2-cobo on raft 1

While Cobo used the raft my sister ran to the other boat to get a different life jacket but Belle wanted to get in the water. So my dad held her off the side of the boat so she could kick.
2-belle floating

Here’s me and the kiddos. We got Pip all geared up to get in the water too.
2-missy and kids

Only he didn’t like it. You can’t really see here but he was screaming his head off.
2-pip and nellie

He’d much prefer hanging out on the dock with my brother Jim where it’s dry.
2-pip and jim

My sister and dad finally convinced me to quit being a big chicken and get in the freezing cold water. It was all great until the wind picked up and our raft started floating away. I had to paddle (and by paddle I mean flail my arms in the water) back to the boat and I think when my doctor referred to “light activities” as being ok she was not referring to flailing around in the river on a raft. Ouch.
2-missy and belle floating

We had about enough of swimming and my sister wanted to take Belle out tubing. I already showed you one of the pictures from tubing here. My hubby made a comment on that post that y’all shouldn’t be deceived and that we were only going 5 miles an hour. Well if we were on the big boat that would have been correct. But we were on my brother’s boat and my dad was flying my baby around on that raft going 15-18 miles per hour.
2-tubing]

And she loved it!
2-no hands

Not sure if you can see the look on Belle’s face. She went tubing two times and each time when we pulled them back on the boat she had this look. We weren’t sure if she was traumatized or just reliving the excitement of the tube or what. But she didn’t speak for a good 5 minutes – which is a very long time for Belle not to speak. I guess she’s ok because she kept wanting to go back in the water.
2-done tubing

We headed back to the marina and spent some time resting on the other boat. Here’s Belle trying on Aunt Nellie’s hat.
2-belle in hat

We were all wiped so went back to the house and crashed. After naps the babies watched some Baby Einstein and I took a few pain pills.
2-watching tv

There ya have it. My first day of rest and relaxation. Hopefully today’s activities involve more rest and relaxation that is actually restful and relaxing. And definitely nothing that involves flailing violently in the river!

missy

3 thoughts on “A day in the life…part 2

    Sarah said:
    July 10, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Missy, Missy, Missy…

    Consider yourself virtually reprimanded. Take it easy girl! 🙂

    (Looks like fun though)

    sincerelyanna said:
    July 10, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Great pictures – but I agree with Sarah! I hope you get some rest on this vacation (but do we ever as moms?…it’s the same work just different place) Enjoy all the help, though!

    danelle said:
    July 11, 2009 at 1:13 am

    hi sister. please listen to yr blog friends!! quit trying to do so much!!! im not sure u know how to relax tho! 🙂

Leave a Reply

