Family Vacation 09 Part 3

Posted on Updated on

This was probably my favorite day of our vacation. Pat, my dad, Princess and Prankster left early to go Jeeping for the day. My mom, sister, Angel and Caleb and I also got moving early because we were meeting my best friend from college Trixie and her two kids.

We decided to meet at Old McDonald’s Farm, an amazing petting zoo. Unfortunately the weather didn’t cooperate and we only got to spend about 30 minutes there before we got hailed on!

Abby (Trixie’s daughter), Angel and my mom petting the baby chicks.
Old McDs 4

Angel checking out the lambs. Not quite sure about this.
Old McDs 1

However she is sure that she likes to chase the chickens!
Old McDs 2

Checking out Mr Rabbit.
Old McDs 3

We had lunch at the mall and then spent a good hour or so visiting. It was so much fun. We spent most of the time sitting in the food court talking and after awhile my mom and sister took the kids to the play area and Trixie and I kept talking!

Abby and Angel. Aren’t they the cutest!
Abby and Angel

Abby was so good with the babies – she loved to play with Caleb and make him laugh.
Abby and Pip

Abby tickling Pip

Visiting and enjoying our time together! (Nice face Angel!)
Mall 3

Me and Trixie with our boys – they are about one month apart.
me and trixie with boys

And all of us!
everyone

I suppose I should share with you who Trixie is. Obviously you know she’s my best friend from college. I remember that I met her the first day of school my freshman year (Go Rabbits!). Our dorm had a meet and greet pizza party thing and I sat by Trixie. My roommate, who was a friend from high school, wasn’t able to go to the meet and greet and so I didn’t know a soul – totally out of my comfort zone. But Trixie was so nice, we hit it off and we were pretty much inseparable that year. She was even able to switch rooms and move right across the hall from me and my roommate! I don’t really remember if our time together included chasing boys or consuming drinks that might have been illegal for us to drink. I don’t think it did. I’m pretty sure we spent all of our time in our dorm rooms studying.

Our sophomore year we rented an apartment together. We had finally grown out of our wild phase, er I mean studious phase, and spent most of our time at our apartment watching tv and eating Dairy Queen late at night.

trixie

Hee hee. Sorry Trixie.

That’s where it gets blurry. I can’t remember if we lived together that whole sophomore year or not but my junior year I moved into a different apartment with some other friends. I don’t think we had a falling out or anything (did we Trix?) – we were just at different places in our lives. We then both moved away and never connected until just this year. 14 years later. Isn’t that crazy? Crazy and amazing.

The most amazing thing about our reunion was it was like we had just talked yesterday. I thought it might be kinda weird but it wasn’t. We had such a great time and I’m so thankful that we were able to have that time. Thankfully we don’t live too far from each other now, (5 hours) so hopefully our reunions will come more often than every 14 years!

And look Trix – we haven’t changed a bit in those 14 years!

me and trixie

me and trixie 1

I love you friend!

missy

One thought on “Family Vacation 09 Part 3

    danelle said:
    July 25, 2009 at 1:06 am

    o my gosh sister, where did u find those pictures?! too funny!

Leave a Reply

