I finally got a brain and went to bed

Posted on Updated on

Although the past few weeks I’ve felt amazing I’m still pretty tired. Partly because Pip is still getting up during the night most nights. Partly because I have yet to break open the Slim in 6 box of exercise videos (but I’m still recovering from my surgery, right?). And partly because I have this problem with staying up late doing really important stuff like reading blogs and facebook.

But last night I got a brain and went to bed at 10:00 pm. Impressive, huh. Thankfully I was even able to fall asleep right away. Nice.

I’m not sure where I was going with this. (See? Still not enough sleep).

Oh ya. Although I stay up all night reading blogs that’s all I’ve been doing lately. As my blog buddies know I’m a really crummy blog commenter and replier to other people’s comments. And I also have ALL THIS STUFF in my head that I’ve been wanting to share with you. But I stay up til 11 pm or 11:30 or midnight reading blogs and facebook and then I’m finally tired and then I go to bed.

However my early to bed last night has caused me to be early to rise today – well actually it was Pip that was early to rise but now he’s back to sleep – and so I thought it perfect timing to share something that’s been on my heart lately. Well, one of the things that has been on my heart.

warning: this is a long post with no pictures so prepare yourself.

You may have read awhile back that I’m in a Bible study with a couple of girlfriends and we are doing Beth Moore’s Summer Siesta Bible study from her blog. The book we are using is Me, Myself and Lies by Jennifer Rothschild. It’s so great. And God’s Word is pretty awesome too.

We’re cleaning out our thought closets and it’s been so much fun!

Your thought closet is what you think about day in and day out. Stop right now. Obviously you are reading this. But think about as you go through the day – you are thinking and talking to yourself. And alot of the time you are not talking nice things. You are worrying or calling yourself names. That’s your thought closet. And that’s what we’ve been cleaning out – reminding ourselves to meditate on God’s Word and His promises!

One thing that has impacted my life greatly the past few weeks as we’ve been doing this study is leaving my worry with the Lord. I know we always hear, “Don’t worry blah blah blah” but that doesn’t change the fact that I worry like crazy. It takes over my thought life and effects so much of me. What this study has done though, is it has given me an alternative to worrying.

First we talked about the what ifs in our life. These are the concerns and worries we have that often consume our thought closet. For me it’s especially true when I’m driving. I think about all the what ifs.

What if I never get to be a stay at home mom?
What if one of my children or Pat get sick or die?
What if I lose my job?
What if we can’t pay our bills?
What if we lose our house?
Etc, etc, etc.

As the author of the study said: “When we worry (what ifs), we choke out the life-giving truth that should be filling our thought closets.”

What are your what ifs?

On second thought don’t answer that. Let’s just get to the good stuff and not even give our what ifs one more thought!

The good stuff are the what is. These are the truths from God’s Word. Phillipians 4:8 reminds us what our thoughts should focus on. None of these are what ifs. They bring us back to thinking about God and His promises. And when I focus on the what is, the burden of things going on in my life – things that I can’t control anyway – are lifted and I am at peace.

What is: God has called me to my job and He will provide if it’s His will for me to stay home. God has equipped me to be a good mom whether I have to work outside the home or not.

What is: God alone numbers our days. I can trust in His will and timing. Do not fear for God will never leave me nor forsake me.

What is: God will provide. Trust in Jesus – He is always with me.

What is: God cares for and provides for the birds of the air. How much more will He care for me, His child?

What is: God cares for and provides for the birds of the air. How much more will He care for me, His child? God is faithful.

Probably the most frustrating thing is that every single day my thoughts wander back to the what ifs. It really is something that I have to surrender to the Lord daily. But since doing this study I have noticed that I’m so much more aware of my thought closet. I’m aware of when I start worrying or thinking about things that really just cause me stress and are burdensome. I can then refocus my thoughts to Jesus, His love and the promises of His Word.

And whether it’s a sleepless or sleep filled night – that’s a great way to start any day!

missy

3 thoughts on “I finally got a brain and went to bed

    Sarah said:
    July 29, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Great post, Missy and a great reminder! I like the thought process change from what if to what is. Awesome!

    MOM said:
    July 29, 2009 at 10:00 am

    “God has equipped me to be a good mom whether I have to work outside the home or not.”
    Yes, that is certainly true, Missy. This is one of the most beautiful gifts the Lord has given you. You are SUCH A GOOD MOM! I love watching you with Angel and Caleb. No, that will never be taken away from you, whether you have to work outside the home or not.

    Teri said:
    July 30, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Sounds like an amazing study, Missy! I hope you’ll share more!

Leave a Reply

