Show us your life

Posted on Updated on

Kelly over at Kelly’s Korner has been doing a weekly carnival for people to show off each room in their house. She’s now expanded it to include other things and this week it’s “wedding party and flowers/ceremony”. And for the first time I’m going to participate and share a little bit about me and Pat’s wedding.

We have been married for 6 1/2 years – we were married on New Years Eve in 2002! I love having New Years Eve as our anniversary. Now granted it isn’t the greatest that we have to wait 2 hours for a table when we go out to eat to celebrate but I still love having this day as our special day. Plus Hubby will never forget our anniversary and that’s gotta count for something!

Hubby and I weren’t married under the best of circumstances – you can read more about that here. But I loved our wedding and I love looking back at our pictures. However, I just realized our pictures are packed away because we have our house on the market and so I can only show you the two that I have on my computer! (Bummer!) And since I don’t have pictures to show I’m going to break the rules (are there rules to show us your life?) and tell you a little more about our wedding than just the bridal party and flowers.

Our wedding and reception were both at a hotel. I was actually up until 4:00 AM the night before decorating. Man, that was not fun. Thankfully our wedding wasn’t until 7:00 pm on New Years Eve so I was able to get some rest before the wedding. I loved my colors. Dark blue and silver. It was Christmasy but not too Christmasy that it was cheesy or anything.

Following the ceremony we had hor duevres for everyone and then had a dance. It was really simple but so beautiful and so much fun.

family-wedding-picture

Princess (Pat’s daughter) was my maid of honor and my sister was my bridesmaid. Prince (Pat’s son) was his best man and his friend Shon was his groomsmen. Honestly I can’t remember what song we danced to first but I do know that this is my favorite picture of all of them.

pat-and-missy-wedding

The past 6 1/2 years have been quite a journey for us. Heart changes, faith commitments, infertility, teenage rebellion, adult children, miracle babies. Most importantly though the past 6 1/2 years have brought us closer together. Our love and commitment has grown and continues to grow with each new day. And that’s something to smile about!

pat and missy

missy

Leave a Reply

