Prayer request and chocolate cake

Posted on Updated on

I woke up this morning to two voice mails from my sister – both left after 11:00 pm. Uh oh. Turns out my dad was not doing well – he’s been having problems with back and leg pain and it’s gotten really bad. They live two hours away from us and they almost came to the hospital in our town late last night but decided to wait until this morning. They got to the ER at about 10:00 am, I was able to get off work at 2:30 and me and the babies cruised over to the hospital just in time for him to go get an MRI.

A few hours later and it was determined it’s bad enough (ruptured disc) that he’ll need surgery. So that is scheduled for tomorrow (Tuesday) at around 1:00 pm. For some reason he’s thinking he’ll be going home tomorrow night but I’m wondering if the pain pills hadn’t kicked in when he was talking to the doctor because that seems a little rushed.

My mom, the babies and I had a few hours to kill while we were waiting for dad to get his MRI. And of course we made our way down to the cafeteria to get the world’s most amazing chocolate cake. Well yes, this is the same chocolate cake that we ate when Pat’s mom was in the hospital. And it’s the same chocolate cake that I did not eat when I had my surgery.

Hello my little friend. I’ve missed you.

brownie

My mom wasn’t too impressed with the chocolate cake. Maybe we’ve talked about it a little too much and her expectations were unrealistically high. I mean we are talking hospital cafeteria food people.

Speaking of hospital cafeteria – here’s my mom and Angel pretending like they don’t know I’m taking a picture and refusing to look at me –

mom and angel

Pat got to the hospital at about 5:30 and at around 6:00 pm my brother Tracy and his wife Laurel showed up. So there was 5 adults, 2 squirmy babies and my dad all squeezed into an ER observation room. I’m pretty sure the ER folks were doing the happy dance when us crazies went up to my dad’s room. And I can’t really confirm this but I’m pretty sure we were really annoying dad’s nurse in his regular room. Not that we were loud or being silly or crazy or anything like that.

caleb on angel

I think I’ll blame it on the chocolate cake!

Thanks for praying for my dad. I’ll keep you posted. It’s a pretty routine surgery nowadays so things should go well.

missy

4 thoughts on “Prayer request and chocolate cake

    Amber said:
    August 17, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Give my beloved Uncle a hug from me. He’ll be in my prayers!

    Jenny said:
    August 18, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Those poor ER people didn’t know what hit them, did they! Praying things go well for your dad today.

    Dawn said:
    August 18, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Thinking of you!

    sincerelyanna said:
    August 18, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    Let you dad know that we’re praying for him in Maryland.

Leave a Reply

