I’m a winner!

Posted on Updated on

Edited to add: Ok, I was never good in math. I just realized that Mary is only going to spend $75 a week on groceries. And she has 10 kids (although I think only 8 at home but still!). So I need to reevaluate my goal.  I’m not sure what that is yet. I’ll share on Friday – stay tuned!

Doesn’t it just make your day to win something? Well yesterday I won not one, but two things!

I entered a giveaway on Owlhaven’s blog and of course forgot about it because I never win anything. But last night I got a comment from Mary that I won! And I’m so excited because I’ve been dying to get my hands on her two new books:

Family Feasts for $75 a Week and A Sane Women’s Guide to Raising a Large Family

This is such a blessing because we have really been trying to find ways to cut back. As soon as I finish reading I’ll share my thoughts about each book.

It’s also good timing because I decided to join along with Mary as she cuts back on groceries big time in September. She’s done this a few years in a row – normally her family of 11 spends $800-900 a month on groceries. Well for September her goal is to only spend $300. You can read more about the challenge by clicking here.

My goal for our family is to spend $75 a week. To be honest – and I’m embarrassed to say – I don’t really know how much we spend each week. I probably couldn’t even go back and add it up because we often shop at Wally World and get other stuff besides groceries. A few weeks ago I joined The Grocery Game. While I really enjoying having the list of great deals readily available I’m not sure it’s helping me save anything so I’m not sure if I’ll continue that when my first month is up.

I’m going to do my grocery shopping and menu planning every Friday.  So you’ll see another post on Friday with next week’s plan. This week I’ve used mainly pantry and freezer stuff we’ve had. And honestly I kinda forgot about the challenge so I wasn’t keeping track. I’m pretty sure we’ve only spent around $35 so far this week though.  This Friday I’ll start sharing more details and a itemized list of what we spend.

I encourage you to join along. There are really no rules – you can choose to cut back as much or as little as you’d like. Mary has some awesome tips though – you’ll want to check out her blog. And even if you’re not a “large” family you’ll find she has some great ideas for families of any size to save money.

missy

3 thoughts on “I’m a winner!

    Denise said:
    September 3, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    I’ll be posting tomorrow too, that will be my first grocery shop for Sept. Not sure how I am supposed to keep a track of what I’m spending in the store either? But it will be fun to see if I can do it for $75 (usually I spend about $100, and there’s only 3 o fus!). It will be fun to see how everyone else does too.

    Laura A Williams said:
    September 3, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Good Luck in the challenge! It’s gonna be tough but here’s hoping all of us challengers can do it!

    owlhaven said:
    September 3, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    So glad you’re playing! I wil be mailing your books in the AM

    Mary

Leave a Reply

