Warning signs

Posted on

I shared a few days ago about our Angel and some of the concerns we had about her development. From the day she came home to us we’ve been watching for warning signs. To be honest I’m not really even sure what the warning signs are – but we’ve been watching intently, waiting for something to stand out to tell us that there are problems.  And even with Caleb, our 8 1/2 month healthy young man, I constantly look for warning signs that something might be wrong. Physically. Emotionally. Developmentally.

Anyone else do this?

And it’s not only with the kids. I do it with myself. Every little pain or twinge (and they are getting more frequent), I think – “Oh no, this is it – I’m a goner!”. Or worse yet I get online and scour the so-called wisdom of the world wide web to try to determine what could possibly be wrong with me – other than paranoia.

The other day I was thinking about these warning signs. Things I so intently look for in myself and my family. And then I started to think about spiritual warning signs.

We must pay more careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away. Hebrews 2:1

God is very clear in His Word that we are to pay attention to what we have learned through the teaching of His Word. And when I do pay attention, I’m able to see the warning signs that tell me I’m drifting away from a close relationship with Him…

…my relationship with my husband – I’m overly sensitive, uncaring and unforgiving

…my relationship with my kids – I’m impatient and unloving

…my relationship with my co-workers – I lack mercy and grace, I don’t show compassion, I don’t give 110%

…my thought life – I focus on things that just stress me out, I worry and worry and worry

…my time spent in prayer and God’s Word – non-existent

…how I spend my time – on things that don’t bring Glory to God, what I watch and listen aren’t glorifying to Him

The list could go on and on. If I don’t pay attention to these things and refocus my time and effort on my relationship with the Lord I will drift farther and farther away from Him.

I’ll probably continue to look for warning signs in my kids – I guess that’s one of my responsibilities as a parent. But I pray that more than anything I will watch for warning signs in my spiritual life that tell me I’m a little off track and then do what I need to do to get back on track.

By the way – a relationship with the Lord and our assurance of eternity in heaven is not based on whether or not we do all of the above things right. It’s only based on having a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.  However out of that relationship will flow a change in our heart and life and a desire to seek Him in all that we do.

missy

Leave a Reply

