House showings are good. Just not good for the Grocery Challenge.

Posted on Updated on

I haven’t cleaned my house in a week and of course today we get a call from a Realtor that wants to show the house at 5:30 pm. We have a bank meeting (To see if we qualify to even buy another house. Yes that would be good.) at 4:00 pm. Hubby runs home at lunch and does a major superman awesome hubby clean up job. I have to get the kiddos at lunch to switch them from Grama Barb’s to Gloria’s so I’m no help. I was able to get off at 3:00 pm though and run home before our 4:00 pm meeting to finish up what Hubby didn’t get done (which wasn’t much). At 3:30 pm we get a call from the bank that the lady we were going to see has to reschedule.

Well isn’t that special. I guess it gives me more time to clean.

We decide to go run some errands for this amazingly huge festival our church is having on Sunday. Those errands include picking up a very large, very heavy helium tank to blow up 300 balloons. We drive back to the church, where I have about 3 hours of work left to do, and thankfully there is a co-worker of the male variety to help Hubby lift the tank out of the van.

Hubby goes and picks up the kids and they come back and we have ourselves a meal off the Burger King value menu. While we all ate for $6.29, it’s still $6.29 that I hated to spend. But you gotta eat, right? Yes, I suppose we could have ate when we got home at 7:00 pm but we didn’t want to. So we didn’t.

So then Hubby tries to keep the kids occupied while I finish up work and we wait for the  people to finish looking at the house.  On the way home it’s major meltdown time because Angel wants her blanket and then she doesn’t and then she does. Then she wants her shoes off and then on and then off. Then she wants the bug on the floor which is actually  a leftover snack from the other day so I say no but she really wants the bug. Then she wants to read the paper but I don’t have a paper so I give her a piece of mail and then she doesn’t want it and then she does.

Whew.

We get home and Hubby claims he has something really important to do in the garage like refill the windshield wiper fluid. He escapes and I’m left to give the babies a bath. Which is ok because that usually means a little break for me too. Only tonight Caleb decides he wants to pull himself up on the side of the tub and then crash into the water hitting his head and getting a mouth full of water.  This means that I have to actually play with the babies and supervise their bath.

Don’t they realize that bath time is all about me? How am I suppose to find time to read the new books I won Family Feasts for $75 a Day or A Sane Women’s Guide to Raising a Large Family that I just got in the mail today if I don’t have bath time.

Kids these days. (Settle down, I’m just kidding).

Hubby finishes his really important job in the garage after the kids are done with their bath and ready for bed.  Ironically this is the exact same time that he realizes there is football on television.  Which is just fine because I find my coziest spot on the couch and open up my new books.

It was a good day. Busy, exhausting and at times overwhelming. But good. And I’ve still got $144 left for the September Grocery Challenge!

missy

One thought on “House showings are good. Just not good for the Grocery Challenge.

    Sarah said:
    September 11, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Thanks for all the work you’re doing for Sunday. I am praying for great weather and a good turnout. Hopefully life can slow down for a bit after Sunday…

Leave a Reply

