Grocery challenge update

Posted on Updated on

It’s exciting to be in the last half of the month. I’m pretty sure we’re going to make it just fine and probably even have alot left over.

At my last update I had $144 left for the month. We’ve been doing a good job of sticking to our menu. Well I guess I should say we’re doing a good job of eating at home or not paying to eat out.

Last week my sister called and wanted to take us out to eat. Ok.
Last week Pat’s mom gave us some ground turkey and fish. Sweet.
Last night my parents were in town and wanted to take us out to eat. Awesome!

Unfortunately we have had two house showings in the last week at 6:00 pm so we grabbed fast food. $5.05 at Sonic and $4.24 at McD’s. We did end up eating again when we got home – that just tied us over til 7:00 pm.

As far as groceries we haven’t had to get anything other than eggs. And then I splurged and bought supplies to send to Princess for her to make Chocolate Lava Cakes. So that grocery trip was $12.20.

Early next week I’ll need to look at the menu and our pantry and I’m thinking I won’t need much for groceries to get us through the month. After subtracting out our purchases the past week I’m left with $122 and I have no doubt we won’t have to use all of it.

Woo hoo! That’s exciting. I’m surprised at how easy it’s been to stay on track when I just put my mind to it – and having the accountable of blogworld that I have to report back to helps too! I’m also excited to see how I can continue to cut back on our groceries even after the September Grocery Challenge is up!

Stop by Owlhaven and see how others are doing on the Grocery Challenge!

Click here to view other Grocery Challenge posts.

missy

2 thoughts on “Grocery challenge update

    owlhaven said:
    September 17, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Sounds like you’re doing awesome!!

    Mary

    Carrie said:
    September 18, 2009 at 11:00 am

    You ARE doing a great job!

    C~

Leave a Reply

