Menu Plan Monday

Posted on Updated on

It’s been awhile since I did Menu Plan Monday because I’ve been a real slacker when it comes to planning a menu and sticking to it. But since joining in on Owlhaven’s Grocery Challenge this month I’m back in the swing things.

I’ve started using Mary’s new book Family Feasts for $75 a Week. Please go out and get this book. There is so much good stuff in it and so many great recipes!

Menu for the week:

Monday (tonight): Chili at Pat’s mom’s house.

Tuesday: BBQ’d ribs, fried potatoes (recipe somewhere in this post)

Wednesday: Church night – family dinner at church

Thursday: Mexican Tortilla Skillet (from Family Feasts)

Friday: Family night – pizza

I mentioned yesterday that I was going to share about our meals this weekend.  Ok, maybe I was a little proud of myself but I actually made three days worth of meals without messing up anything. That’s like a miracle around here.

Friday night we had pizza. Ya, I know, can’t really mess that up.

Saturday morning I made caramel rolls for breakfast. Thaw out a two loafs of frozen bread dough but don’t let them rise. Cut into bite size pieces. Put into greased 9×13 pan.  In a sauce pan bring to boil 1 stick of butter, 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup vanilla ice cream. Poor over bread and let rise for 20-30 minutes. Then bake in 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.

Saturday lunch was ham sandwiches and leftovers.

I promise I did actually cook something.

Saturday night we had spaghetti and veggies. I also made biscuits (from Family Feasts).

Sunday for lunch we had steaks on the grill, baked potatoes and roasted veggies.

Sunday supper I made homemade chicken strips (so easy from Family Feasts) and fried rice (again so easy from Family Feasts).

I guess looking back there was absolutely nothing exciting or fancy about my weekend meals.  But it does feel good to actually cook for my family. We’ve gotten into the habit of eating out too much and it really was a blessing to eat every meal at home this weekend.  It was pretty nice eating meals that tasted good too!

Head over Organizing Junkie for lots of great menu ideas!

missy

3 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

    Sarah said:
    September 28, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Good for you! I always find that I do so much better when I plan…plus, if something is in the crockpot, you can’t eat out b/c dinner is already cooking! 🙂

    Princess said:
    September 29, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    yum! can i come home for thursdays and fridays supper!?

      Missy said:
      September 29, 2009 at 7:51 pm

      YA!!!

Leave a Reply

