Cleaning out my closet

Posted on

Last night I got ambitious and decided to clean out my closet. I still had maternity clothes, a whole pile of shirts with stains on them, and pants and shirts I was keeping for when I lose 30 pounds.  It felt good to get rid of stuff. I was finally honest with myself and got rid of things that I haven’t worn in a year. I didn’t allow my crazy self to tell my sane self that I should hang on to it just in case.  I’m a bad blogger and didn’t get a before and after picture. But I did haul out 3 bags of clothes and shoes and stuff.

As I was purging, throwing and cleaning I started to think about my thought closet. I shared a little bit about that here. I’m doing the study Me, Myself and Lies again, this time as a Sunday morning class for women in our church. It’s all about our thought closets and I love this study because I learn something new every time I go through it. God’s Word is like that. This last Sunday we talked about labels.  We all have them. Perhaps we have brought them on ourselves. Perhaps not. But God has chosen to entrust us with these labels.

Infertile. Wife. Single. Divorced. Step-mom. Mom. Child-less. Widow.  Handicapped. Addicted.

God wants to use us and grow us and stretch us even as we live with these labels.

The author of the study, Jennifer Rothschild, directed us to God’s Word and Rahab. Anyone remember her label? Yep. Prostitute. Harlet.  Talk about a tough label to live with.  Yes, she did bring this label on herself. However, that didn’t change the fact that God was still able to use her. She trusted God more than she trusted her feelings.  When the men came knocking on her door she could have thought,”um no thanks I hate men”. Or she could have thought, “there’s no possible way God would want to use me in this situation”. But she knew who God was. She had the right assumption of her God – that it was by His strength and might that she was able to do anything.

That really struck my heart because for awhile I allowed my labels to paralyze me. Infertile – God obviously didn’t love me.  Divorced – I made too many mistakes, God will never want to use me.

But praise God, He helped me see through those labels and come to understand who He is. He helped me gain the right assumption of Him. Of His love. Of His grace and mercy. Of His strength to work in my life even when I find myself wearing a label that I might not want to wear.

What label are you wearing today? Are you allowing that label to paralyze you? Are you clinging to your label so tightly that you can’t cling to God? Remember that God has entrusted you with that label. He has allowed you to walk the road you are walking.  But He also wants to change you and help you grow.  He wants you to learn to trust Him.

So join me in cleaning out your thought closet. And get rid of some of the old stuff that doesn’t need to be there. Stop clinging to labels and cling to God. Know that He loves you, you are His workmanship and through His strength all things are possible.

missy

Leave a Reply

