And the award for worst mommy goes to…

Posted on

Me! Me! Me! Pick me!

Tuesday night I was a single mom as Pat had to work late. While we miss daddy alot there’s usually nothing major that happens when I’m by myself with the kiddos. Well other than multiple meltdowns, injuries and Angel asking every ten minutes, “Where’s Daddy?”.

On Tuesday night right before bedtime Caleb decided to fill his pants. Angel was playing and so I grabbed Caleb and went to quickly change him. We often change them on our bed because it’s the perfect height. Me, being the idiot that I am, put Caleb on our bed. Not realizing that he not only had a poopy diaper but he had a blowout poopy diaper.

I should also mention that our bed has a white down comforter.

I take his diaper off and realize he’s got poop going all the way up his back and since I had layed him on the bed, poop is now all over the bed. Did I mention he’s laying on a white down comforter? Since he has a new found love of his you know what, the first thing he does is put his hands there getting them all poopy too.

At this point wouldn’t the sane, smart and good mommy just put the kid in the tub? Well not this mommy. I was being lazy and didn’t want to give them baths – they’d had them earlier that day at Grama’s house – and so I decided I’d just clean up Caleb with wipes. Unfortunately every time I would try to wipe I’d smear it all over, get it on my hand or smear more on our white down comforter.

I eventually decided that I would have to hold Caleb upside down by his ankles to get everything clean. And so that is what I did. Oh yes, I did. Never mind that he was screaming and probably asking God what He was thinking when He made me the mommy.

I persevered through the poop (and poor screaming Caleb) and got him all cleaned up. It only took me 14 wipes and will cost me 20 some dollars to get my comforter cleaned.  But I guess every kid needs a poop story so that’s gotta count for something.

And the award for the dumbest person goes to…

2 thoughts on “And the award for worst mommy goes to…

    Jenny said:
    November 19, 2009 at 6:02 am

    You do realize by now that it would have just been easier to dunk him in the tub, right? 🙂 Every mommy needs a good poopslopsion story!

    Sarah said:
    November 19, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Just getting caught up on some old posts – sorry about your van and your birthday. They’re not always the best of days, that is for sure. Too funny, though, about Caleb. Just had to laugh…

Leave a Reply

