7 for Sunday

Posted on

I just totally made that up – 7 for Sunday. I’m creative like that.

Not really. I had a “5 for Friday” post started for Friday but didn’t get it done so while I did just think of the 7 for Sunday, I actually stole the idea from my friend Anna. I’m more of a copy cat than creative I guess.

Anyway – here we go.

1. Weight loss tip:

Don’t make cookies three times in one week. While they taste very good and make your family happy, especially a certain two-year old who “LOVES CHOCOLATE”,  they do absolutely nothing for your waste line. Besides make it grow.

2. Speaking of making my waste line grow.

I made some yummy potatoes last week. I was going to make twice baked potatoes but didn’t have actual baking potatoes just your normal russet potatoes. So I cubed them up and cooked them. And then roughly smashed them with a fork. I had earlier cooked up some bacon* and so I added the bacon, a couple heaping spoonfuls of sour cream, a tiny bit of milk and at least a cup of shredded cheddar cheese. I mixed it all up gently and then put it in a baking dish with a lid and stuck it in the oven (where my chicken was finishing cooking). By the time the chicken was done (about 10 minutes later) the potatoes were bubbly and goey. Oh so good.

Yes, I’m a bloggy failure and didn’t take a picture.

*I learned a tip about cooking bacon from Melissa d’Arabian of the Food Network.  Just keep your bacon frozen in a freezer bag. When you need some use a sharp knife and cut off what you think you’ll need – for these potatoes I cut about 1/3 of the entire package and then cut that into slices so I had little pieces. Put the frozen bacon in a frying pan and it cooks up really nice. Put the rest back in the freezer bag and freeze until you need some more.  This worked when I needed bacon for blt’s too. I cut another 1/3 or so but this time I didn’t cut strips to make little pieces. I just put the whole thing in the frying pan and eventually it all softened enough to break apart. Works great!

3. I can’t wait to drive around and look at Christmas lights this year. Angel is so loving the lights. On the way home every night it’s just about dark and most people have their lights on. As we drive by every single house Angel has to ooo and ahhh. I’m going to tell Princess that even though she’s all grown up and in college now that does not give her an excuse to miss out on driving around looking at Christmas lights. I still haven’t decided if we should continue the tradition of listening to Another Rosie Christmas cd while we drive around.  Even though one of the songs (which happens to be our favorite) talks about tampons and cigarettes and beer, I’m pretty sure we will because it’s very awesome. And there are other songs that talk about Jesus so that has got to count for something. Yes, this is one of the most unique cd’s you’ll ever listen to.

4. Tomorrow Pat and I begin a new exercise regime. I need to do some type of exercise. Not only to shrink my cookie and potato loving waste line but mainly because I know I need to stay healthy.  I’ve really been worried about that lately – if I’ll have a stroke by the time I’m 40. The way I eat and don’t exercise I wouldn’t be to surprised. And so I’m committed to making some changes.

I wish I could get as excited and passionate about working out as I was at one point in my life. Yes, just one time in my life. I decided to start running and I did a couple 5k’s and 10k’s and then I trained for a half marathon. And I actually followed through and did it. I hurt my knee right after so quit doing any type of exercise after that. Well I guess a few years later I started biking but that didn’t last too long. Now with the two babies it’s hard. The time I’m home when they’re awake I want to spend with them. When they go to sleep I clean, spend time with Pat or blog. Mornings are killer for me (I hate getting out of bed) and I’ve really been trying to have some quiet time with the Lord so I’m not going to give that up.  So our plan (well my plan – I haven’t told Pat yet. Hee hee) is to wake up 30 minutes early. Do a little workout and then still have time for quiet time before the kids wake up.

I’m hoping Susan Mann is on FitTV at 5:30 am. She’s one of the few on that network that I really like. Otherwise I might have to break down and go buy the 30 Day Shred by Jillian Michaels but I was kinda hoping to ease into it and not have complete heart failure the first day I try to exercise.   Yes I could just go for a walk outside but in addition to being lazy and enjoying cookies and potatoes I hate the cold. I know, it’s not a good combination for someone who needs to get in shape. Pray for me.

5. I’ve got most of my Christmas shopping done. I can’t believe it. I’m usually a Christmas Eve shopper. Oh yes I am. But this year we really cut back and so that helped plus I guess I’m just being super organized. Ok, maybe not. But anyway I have only a few gifts left and that feels so wonderful!  But the next few weeks will still be pretty busy.

Princess comes home Thursday for Christmas break! On Friday night we’ll go out to eat for her birthday.  Thursday is Caleb’s 1st birthday! I have a meeting I need to be at so we won’t go out to eat for his birthday – will probably just combine it with Holly’s since he won’t really know the difference! We’ll have his birthday party on Sunday – still have to figure out what I’m doing for that. Thursday night is Christmas Eve service at 4:30 and 6:30 – Pat and I are doing a skit at each service. Yes, I said skit. Y’all probably know that I’m all about the drama but for Pat to be doing a skit…well I’m still not even sure how that happened, especially since I didn’t beg or anything.

We’ll have Christmas Eve with Pat’s family and then Friday morning drive to my parent’s house. Not sure how long we’ll stay there, for sure one night. And then on December 31st Pat and I will celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary!

6. I have 94 posts in my drafts folder.  Yes, you read that right. 94. What does that say about me? Never mind, don’t answer that.

7. This is a conversation Pat and I had this week:

Missy:   Ya know hon, sometimes I think you help around the house too much.

He looks at me like I’ve lost my mind.

Missy: I mean I really appreciate it and all but since you always help with everything it’s not something really special or out of the ordinary. It’s kinda like if I were to pick up the dog poop every day, it wouldn’t be really special to you.

He looks at me like I’ve lost my mind.

Missy: Well that’s a bad example. But you know what I mean, right?  It kinda makes me feel like you’re taking away my job. I know we both have full time jobs but I still feel like the housework and stuff is my job and I like to do it. But I still want you to help, maybe just not as much as you do now.

Pat: So you want me to not help so much around the house but still help around the house?

Missy: Ya.

He looks at me like I’ve lost my mind.

The end.

One thought on “7 for Sunday

    Kristin said:
    December 14, 2009 at 9:54 am

    I agree with Pat. You’ve lost your mind, friend.

Leave a Reply

