Christmas snapshots

Posted on Updated on

~The baby cousins enjoying their gifts on Christmas Eve. We always have Pat’s family’s Christmas on Christmas Eve night but this year it got pushed back to 1:00 pm because of the snow storm.  Grama Barb made her chicken and dumpling soup (the best ever). We exchanged gifts and then went to church at 4:30 pm.

~At church we sat next to one of my closest friends Lisa and her family, so they could help with the kids when Pat and I did a skit (yes you read that right). This is her daughter Anna who Angel absolutely loves.

~Trying to get a cute picture of the kids at church. I guess it’s still cute but not quite what I was looking for.

~We began a new Christmas Eve tradition of cheese fondue and crab legs. Yum!

~The future Mr and Mrs waiting to open presents.

~YA! Opening presents!

~Opening more presents. I think this one was actually the night before – we let the kids open one present. Because that’s what me and my siblings used to do when we were little. We would beg our parents until they were ready to go bonkers and finally let us open a present the day before Christmas.

~Snow. Lots and lots of snow! (18.5 inches to be exact)

~The snow forced us to stay home instead of going to my parents on Christmas Day. It was also the reason we didn’t leave the house for two and 1/2 days. And because Angel had a cold too. Surprisingly we didn’t go too stir crazy. These are some things that kept us busy…

~Potty training.

Unsuccessful potty training. I wasn’t paying attention for about 2.3 seconds – seriously it wasn’t that long – and I see Angel acting like she’s wet. I asked her if she went potty and she said no. And then pointed across the room to where Caleb was playing in a pool of what I guess wasn’t her potty.

Gag.

I wimped out and decided I’d potty train another day.

~So instead we played with Pat’s new Ipod Touch (his birthday-Christmas-anniversary present for the next 12 years).

~And twirled. Yes that’s me in my wedding dress. Yes, the cropping is necessary.

~We played with the wagon that apparently works best as a scooter.

~We tried on Christmas presents.

~We set the table.

~We (and when I say we I mean I) did about 23 loads of laundry. And you will be impressed to know I put all 23 loads (ok, maybe it was only 10 loads) away and they are no longer sitting on the chair/ottoman (as they were in the Ipod picture).

~We watched lots of good movies like Strawberry Shortcake, Annie and Sound of Music.

~We finally ventured out of the house around noon on Sunday. Angel still wasn’t feeling 100% but it seemed like she needed a little break from all the togetherness. We had a nice unhealthy lunch at Wendy’s and then did a little shopping before going home to nap.

~We forgot to make a birthday cake on Jesus’ birthday. But we didn’t forget to remember the reason we celebrate Christmas.

3 thoughts on “Christmas snapshots

    April T said:
    December 27, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Missy,
    I love your posts! We may not seem to find time to get together in person, but I love reading your stories. You are so fun!!!!

    Emily said:
    December 27, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    we also did a million loads of laundry this week! 🙂 glad you had a fun time with your family.

    sincerelyanna said:
    December 28, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Looks like fun except for the potty training part. Guess I missed the big announcement about Princess engaged! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

