And then she cried

Posted on Updated on

Princess is home for a few weeks on Christmas break and during those few weeks she’s working like crazy to get as much done for the wedding as possible.  And of course that includes dress shopping.

I was so honored when Princess asked me to come along with her and her mom. At the first appointment her mom and I had fun picking out dresses for Princess, many of which she assured us she wouldn’t wear. She really wanted something simple, yet elegant. Little or no beading and definitely nothing really big and poofy. She’d prefer to not even have a train.  There’s not alot to pick from that isn’t big and poofy but she found a few that were really beautiful that first night.

My favorite was the last one. It looked so amazing on her and was unique in a way that fit Princess’s personality.

The next day we had an appointment at another store. This store had alot more selection. I got there a little late, in fact was almost not going to go. It was a crazy busy day at work for me and I had convinced myself I couldn’t get away. Thankfully my friend Lisa convinced me that I had to go. And I’m so glad I did.  I did get there a little late and Princess was in a dress and absolutely glowing.

I thought she looked beautiful but there was just something about it I didn’t like. It was maybe too simple? I’m not sure why but it just didn’t seem like it was the one. I tried not to be too critical and told Princess it was up to her and it was the only dress so far that she really loved.

And then she tried on another one. As soon as she came out of the dressing room her mom and I gasped and her mom started crying. It was so beautiful. It was very simple yet elegant. She looked like a real princess but it wasn’t fancy or over the top. One problem was that it was a little big on the bottom. One thing Princess didn’t want.

We picked out a few more but Princess went back to the other two. She tried the first one on again but both me and her mom were convinced the other one was the one.   Princess put that one on again and said she did really like it. It was so flattering on her – holy cow she’s a tiny thing and I just can’t say how beautiful she looked. But there was something holding her back and she wasn’t completely convinced this was the one.

Then Princess said, “If only it had pockets”.  She was completely serious. Princess is a pockets type of girl.  As she said it she swung her arms back and slid them against the dress…right into the pockets! Her mom and I screamed and yelled “IT HAS POCKETS!”

And then Princess cried. And we knew this was the dress she would wear on her wedding day.

2 thoughts on “And then she cried

    Princess said:
    December 28, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    pockets rule.

    Jenny said:
    December 29, 2009 at 5:14 am

    Princess has no idea how handy those pockets will be! Well, ok, she probably does, being a pocket girl and all. It’s fabulous when you find just the perfect dress!

Leave a Reply

