Breakfast with Angel

Posted on

It was the day after Christmas.

The night before Angel made it sleeping in her bed until 4:00 am. Right about that time she starts yelling for me that she needs to rock, Pat starts snoring and Caleb was making noises like he was having a wrestling match with someone in his crib.

I pull the covers up over my head and tell myself it’s all my imagination.

That dream only lasts about a minute and I get up to get Angel who is still yelling for me. Expecting to not get another second of sleep the next thing I remember is her waking up at 7:00 am asking to watch cartoons. After about 30 minutes she says to me, “Mommy, I need a snack.”

“Angel can you give me just a second to wake up?” I ask her.

“Ok, I’ll go down this way,” as she starts getting off our king bed all by herself.

When did she get so big? I thought to myself. I look up to see her standing at the bedroom door waiting for me.

“Come on Mommy, I need a snack”, she says.

So much for that bright idea, telling her I need a few more minutes. Looks like we are getting up whether I like it or not.

“What do you want for breakfast Angel?” I ask.

“Ummmmmmmmmm, cereal.”

That was a change from recent requests. Normally it’s eggs or toast with jelly.  We open the cereal cupboard to see our lame assortment of cereals.

“Let’s see,” Angel says.

She’s so funny this morning, I thought. Well she’s always funny but especially funny today.

“How ’bout this one?” I say, holding up the Fruity O’s, generic Fruit Loops.

She takes the box, holds it in front of her and says, “Ummmmmmmmmmmm, no!” and puts it back.

“I want this one,” as she grabs the Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds.

Well ok then.

I get a bowl and start pouring.

“That’s enough.” she says.

I want to say “Who are you?” but laugh instead and then I hear her say, “Now we need milk.”

I pour just a little milk.

“Not too much mommy,” she says.

I figure I might as well follow the example of my two year old and opt for Honey Bunches of Oats instead of Fruity O’s.  We sit down for breakfast and I turn on the laptop.

Angel quickly says, “Mommy be careful.”

I smile and look at my two year old.  Then I close my laptop and decide my attention needs to be focused on this funny little person God has blessed me with.

“You having cereal too Mommy?” asks Angel.

“Yes I am!”

And she smiles.

One thought on “Breakfast with Angel

    singspeakgloryseek said:
    December 31, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Oh, Missy! This is wonderful! Thanks for letting us be there with you and Angel!

Leave a Reply

