The blame game

Posted on

The other night I was helping with our church’s Preschool Christmas program. I was running the sound and the screen and the Pastor got up to the mic to welcome everyone and pray… no sound. I had it on. It wasn’t muted. I had done everything right. There was another gentlemen in the sound booth recording the event and he had hooked up some cords for his mic so I was convinced it was him that must have jiggled something loose or turned something off he shouldn’t have. The Pastor ended up just talking really loudly and within about 5 minutes there were two others that came up to the sound booth that had more experience than me. Eventually they realized I hadn’t turned the “amplifier” on which makes the sound actually go into the Sanctuary.

It was at this point that I said, “I didn’t even think of that – the sound board was turned on before I came up here so I assumed that person turned everything on.” Once again it was someone else’s fault for my negligence in making sure everything was set to go.

Before I went home that night I stopped at Walmart to return a few things. With the gift card I got I purchased some items but when I went to pay the cashier couldn’t get my card to work. She first blamed the card. Then the machine. Then she put the card in a plastic bag and tried running it through the machine that way (that was weird). Finally after about 15 minutes of trying different things and making different excuses she called a manager.  Turns out the cashier wasn’t hitting the right button.

On my way home I reflected on this blame game that I had played earlier, that the cashier had played and that I assume many play each and every day. It’s always someone else’s fault it seems. It’s often difficult to take responsibility.

I think what it boils down to is pride. Am I allowing pride to effect how I react to situations? Do I really think that I’m so amazing that I could never make a mistake? Sometimes I think that’s what it is. And that’s a scary place to be my friends because unfortunately I know better than anyone that “pride comes before the fall.”

Here’s some scripture I found on humility:

~Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Philippians 2:3

~When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom. Proverbs 11:2

~The fear of the LORD teaches a man wisdom, and humility comes before honor. Proverbs 15:33

~Before his downfall a man’s heart is proud, but humility comes before honor. Proverbs 18:12

~Humility and the fear of the LORD bring wealth and honor and life. Proverbs 22:4

My prayer is that I will make decisions, speak and act in humility and not pride. That certainly doesn’t mean that I become a doormat and take the blame for every situation. But I think it does mean that my first reaction isn’t to blame others but to think more highly of others than myself.

And one thing I do know is that you can never go wrong by playing the humility game instead of the blame game.

One thought on “The blame game

    Faith Treague said:
    January 6, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Wow Missy this is great. I was there that night, I was up in the sound booth and you seemed very calm and did a great job. But the point you made was great. You are a great writer. Blessings Faith

Leave a Reply

