7 Quick Takes Friday

Posted on

1. Brrrr. In case no one noticed, it’s cold. -17 degrees at this current moment. That’s the temperature not wind chill.  It’s days like these I so wish I could stay home and cuddle with my kids.

2. And soon I’ll be able to do just that!

I gave my resignation yesterday at my current job. I work for our church and I absolutely love it. But I’ve known for the past 2 years that my heart’s desire has been to stay home with the kids. As you might have read about here a few months ago all hope was lost that this would ever happen.

But then over Christmas God laid it on my heart to step out in faith. I applied for two positions, both of which I’d only have to work three days a week, and I got both of them. How awesome is that. God just totally knocked my socks off.

Next week I’ll share a little more about my thoughts on leaving my current job and where I’ll be going. I’m sad. And excited. And just praying for a -17 degree day the first Thursday morning I’m home so me and kiddos have a good excuse to cuddle in bed!

3. Caleb has been feeling rotten the past few weeks. He’s had a bad cold, very icky nose and I’m pretty sure alot of it is teething. He also is still very attached to his bottle and refused to use a sippy cup, unless of course there’s Root Beer in it.  I think we’re just going to have to bite the bullet and do a hard cut off. Not looking forward to that.

4. On the other hand Angel loves her sippy cup. And we’ve always let her take one to bed with water. That’s going to have to change as I get a little more serious about potty training. Not looking forward to that.

5. I’m going on day 3 of no pop. I know, that doesn’t sound too impressive, but it’s huge for me. Recently I was up to drinking 2-3 a day, Coke being my drink of choice. But I’m on a mission to lose weight – no really – and also just get healthy. So far the major headaches have been pretty major but it helps to drink water and I think I’ve been doing a good job of that.

6. Princess goes back to college this weekend. It’s been such a blessing to have her home for a few weeks. Her and her mom have been making good progress and plans for the wedding. The other night her and Prankster came over and we played the game “Things”. It’s kind of a new game and it was so fun.

And this is where it gets a little crazy.

One of the questions was ‘What is something you hope you can still do when you’re 85?”

Pat’s answer was “my spouse”.

Ya, nice.

7. Do you have any regrets? Next week I’ll share a little bit more about my thoughts on that. (Thanks to Erin for this link).

Stop over to Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes. Have a great weekend!

6 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday

    Sarah said:
    January 8, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Well, needless to say, I’m shocked and saddened. We will miss you tremendously! Any chance you checked to see if they would let you go down to three days/week at church?

    Blessings to you on your new endeavors…

      Missy said:
      January 8, 2010 at 2:52 pm

      😦 I did, but I understand why that wouldn’t work with my position. I am excited to volunteer though, it’s easy to grow complacent when you’re here all the time so I’m ready to be refreshed and allow God to use me big time! 🙂

    Christine said:
    January 8, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Oh, Missy, I’m so happy for you! Working 3 days a week is awesome, and you will love it.

    I always love reading your blog! You write beautifully, and I enjoy hearing about what Angel is doing. What days will you be working? It might be easier for us to get together for a play date or two once you start your new position. Let me know!

      Missy said:
      January 8, 2010 at 6:22 pm

      That would be awesome! I’ll be working Monday-Wednesday, every Thursday and Friday off. I’m so excited for play dates! 🙂

    Young Mom said:
    January 8, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Good for you on skipping the pop!

    sincerelyanna said:
    January 8, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    Woohoo for going out in a step of faith with your job/hours/desire to be home.

    Woohoo for your husband saying he’ll still be hot for you in your 80’s! 🙂

Leave a Reply

