The awesome leftovers pie dog food

Posted on Updated on

I think I’ve mentioned a few times that for the past few months I’ve been planning meals a month at a time. I do 90% of my grocery shopping once a month and then each week just pick milk, veggies, fruit and bread. We’ve been doing a great job and staying on track. I have my menu on my bulletin board in the kitchen and so I always know what the plan is for supper. Works good.

Well, it works good until there comes a night where I’m tired (and maybe just a little lazy) and don’t feel like making what’s on the menu. This happened on Tuesday night.

I also realized I had alot of leftovers in the fridge and I’ve been trying to do a lot better with using leftovers. I had no idea what I was going to make, I just started pulling things out of the fridge. Turkey, pepperoni, cheese, bacon, crescent rolls, tomatoes. There’s gotta be a meal here somewhere.

My first plan was to make a pizza type thingy. Then I thought that maybe I could make a pie casserole thingy. I took one package of crescent rolls and pressed them into a pie pan to make a pie crust thingy. As you can see there was alot of experimental thingys going on.

I cooked up the bacon. Mmmm, bacon. Bacon makes everything good. Or so I thought. I then chopped up the turkey, pepperoni and tomatoes. While the pie crust thingy was cooking I kinda freaked out because I had no idea what I was doing and I had no idea how I was going to make a casserole or something with it. So I decided to go back to the pizza thingy. I used the other container of crescent rolls and pressed them out onto a pizza pan. I spread cheese all over it and then spread the chopped meat and tomatoes over it and then finished it off with more cheese. By this time the pie crust was done so I took that out and did the same thing with toppings and put them both back in the oven.

After 15 minutes or so they were both done but the pie was a little too done since I had already cooked the crust. There were both really yummy though. I was so impressed with myself. I told Angel, “We’re having awesome leftovers pie for supper!”

Pat had to work late and so the kids and I sat down to eat our leftovers pie. Well actually the kids and I sat down for dinner but only I ate the leftovers pie. I made the mistake of giving them cottage cheese first before the leftovers pie and then they didn’t want to eat anything else. Caleb threw a 15 minute tantrum before I finally gave in and let him eat a whole carton of cottage cheese for supper.

“Mama, please don’t make me eat your leftovers pie!”

When Pat came home he gave me “the look”. As in “what in the world did you make for supper?” I told him it was leftovers pie and he said, “leftover pie? When did you make pie?”

He thought it was leftover pie – like pie I made and now there were leftovers. Um, no honey, it’s leftovers pie as in a pie made with leftovers. Unfortunately there’s a big difference.

Well he ate a few pieces and then got up and went into the kitchen to find something else to eat. He didn’t say anything but it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to know that my awesome leftovers pie wasn’t so awesome.

I started cleaning up and whining about how I’m a horrible cook and that I’m sorry for making such a horrible meal. And he said, “It’s ok honey. Sometimes we get diamonds and sometimes we just need to make due with cubic zirconia.”

Oh, don’t I know it.

I finished cleaning up and we had a whole half of pizza leftover. I asked Pat if he thought I should give it to the dogs.

“Oh ya! The dogs will love it!”

Really. Well isn’t that special. I’m so glad that while I may not have the gift of cooking, I certainly have the gift of creating awesomeness for our dogs.

2 thoughts on “The awesome leftovers pie dog food

    Jenny said:
    January 14, 2010 at 5:23 am

    “Sometimes we get diamonds and sometimes we just need to make due with cubic zirconia.”

    Best line of the day!

    singspeakgloryseek said:
    January 14, 2010 at 8:04 am

    Did Pat REALLY say that??????
    Of course he did, he is sooooooo witty!
    Oh how we love your hubby!(:)

Leave a Reply

