A new routine

Posted on

Today was the first day of me being a part-time stay at home mom. This week is a little different as I’ll be training so I had today off and then will work Tuesday-Friday 8:00 am – 4:30 pm. Then come next week I’ll work Monday-Wednesday 8:30 am – 7:00 pm and have Thursday-Sunday off.

This was what my day home looked like today:

5:30 am – Angel awake and at our door. Didn’t she remember that I told her we could sleep in today? Guess not.

6:30 am – Caleb wakes up.

7:00 am – Breakfast. I’m still in my pj’s.

7:15 am – Pat leaves for work. The wife and his two children are not crying or screaming as is usually the case every morning.

7:45 am – Kids are done eating. I clean up. They start playing and fighting with Mr Potato Heads.

8:30 am – Caleb is whiney and clingy. He wants his bottle, which we are trying to wean him from. He’s walking around the house “crying” and saying “mama mama” and “baba baba”.

9:00 am – Caleb down for his nap. Or so I thought.

9:30 am – I look at the clock and it’s only 9:30 am. I’m exhausted.

9:45 am – Caleb decides he doesn’t want to nap. I get him out of his crib but he’s definitely still tired so we rock until he finally gives in and falls asleep.  And then I rock him a little bit longer.

10:00 am – Angel and I “redecorate” the basement. I actually just rearranged the furniture and organized the toys but she likes to call it redecorating. In between redecorating I finish up the laundry. Angel makes pictures with stickers in between telling me that my redecorating looks perfect. At one point I start wearing her sunglasses and she says to me, “Mama you look fabulous.”

11:00 am – Caleb is awake. Hi 5 is on. Dance party with me and two little munchkins.

11:30 am – Lunch time. Beans, cantaloupe, jello, cheese and cottage cheese.

12:00 pm – Yahoo. Daddy’s home for lunch. Oops I forgot to make him something. I’m still getting the hang of this being home thing.

1:00 pm – Nap time for both kiddos.

1:05 pm – Let the house cleaning begin. I finished up the boat load of dishes that had been on my counter for a week. Yes, a week. I’ll be the first to admit I’m the world’s worst house keeper.  The major dishpan hands I had after washing dishes for 45 minutes was totally worth it to get every single dish clean in my house.

2:00 pm – Sat down with my laptop and a bowl of chocolate ice cream. If that was wrong of me I don’t want to be right.

2:15 pm – Back to cleaning. Cleaned the kitchen and dining room and finished laundry.

2:45 pm – Caleb woke up. Again though he didn’t really want to wake up but wanted to rock. So we rocked for a little bit.

3:15 pm – Caleb woke up for good. We went upstairs and woke up Angel. Snack time. Watched a little bit of Dora while I finished up cleaning the kitchen.

3:30 pm – Two crabby kiddos. Fighting over the Mr Potato Heads. Again. Started reading books but Caleb just kept throwing temper tantrums. Not sure why. Maybe because he can.

4:00 pm – Went back downstairs. Maybe a change of scenery will help with the crabby kids. Sure did. Just played and tried to finished organizing the toys.

5:00 pm – Back upstairs to get ready to head out. Pat and I had to go to church to do an In Design training for the church staff and so the kiddos were going to Grama Barb’s. I think after an entire day with Mommy they were very happy to see Grama Barb!

7:30 pm – Home from training. Cuddle and play with the kiddos. Caleb bedtime at 8:30 pm. Angel bedtime at 9:00 pm. It was a great day. I’m so thankful for the opportunity to have more time at home.

4 thoughts on “A new routine

    Dawn Becker said:
    January 26, 2010 at 7:47 am

    Yay for the first day at home! It’s wild, huh? =) I hope you and your babies will find a good rhythm that works for you and that you’ll all love this new arrangement! Love you!

    Kandi said:
    January 26, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Ahhh…So happy you’re able to be home more!

    singspeakgloryseek said:
    January 26, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    I’m curious about the Mr. Potato Heads? Are these the ones you buy at the store, or are they creating faces on a potato like they did at Grama and Papa’s house?

      Missy said:
      January 26, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      No, the ones you buy at the store. Angel likes to put them together and Caleb likes to destroy them.

Leave a Reply

