What’s for dinner?

Posted on

I just had to share this easy, fairly quick recipe that I threw together the other night.

And yes, I am proud of myself.

I was going to make this for Pat on Valentine’s Day night but he ended up getting sick and going to bed early. I promise it wasn’t because of my food that he got sick. I don’t think.

Well anyone last week I finally was able to make it. Here are the ingredients:

~Shrimp, peeled and deveined (I had found a large bag of frozen for $10 at Walmart)
~One packaged of sausage. I used Habanero Monterey Jack Cheese flavor (Pat likes spicy) but I also put in about a 1/2 package of regular Italian Sausage since the other would be too hot for the kids.
~Angel hair pasta
~Three lemons
~1/2 stick of butter
~Asparagus
~Mushrooms

I started by sauteing the sausage in a pan with extra virgin olive oil. I had sliced the sausage. While that was cooking I got the water for the Angel Hair Pasta started. The trick is not starting that too soon because it cooks so fast.

While the sausage continued cooking (stir every few minutes) I cut up the mushrooms and asparagus. I cleaned the mushrooms with a paper towel and sliced them into pretty big pieces and then set them aside. I cut the ends off the asparagus and then cut the remaining good part in half and set that aside too.

I should have kept better track of timing and all that but I think I cooked the sausage about 10 minutes. I then added the shrimp and let that cook a little bit and then added the asparagus. I realized after it was done that I should have detailed the shrimp too. It was ok but a little more difficult to eat.

I put the Angel Hair Pasta in the boiling water about the same time I added the shrimp and asparagus. After letting the sausage, shrimp and asparagus cook for 5 minutes or so I added the mushrooms and let that cook a few minutes. By this time there was already a little bit of a broth started. I made sure to really scrap the bottom.

After letting the mushrooms cook a few minutes I added 1/2 stick of butter and the juice from three lemons. Make sure to roll the lemons before you cut them to get all the juices flowing and squeeze them upside down so you don’t get seeds in the pan.

After adding the butter and lemon juice I stirred everything and let it cook another few minutes. Just enough time to get the pasta drained and in a serving bowl. I served the pasta and the meat/veggies separate from each other but you could serve it all together or just let your guests/family mix it together on their plate.

Here’s a completely staged picture of the final dish:

The spicy sausage was a nice touch and the sauce that the lemon, butter and seasoning from all the ingredients created was excellent. Pat even said it was one of the best meals I’ve made. Now I know, that doesn’t say alot but still!

Here’s the price breakdown:

Spicy sausage – $3.99 (a little bit of a splurge, but it was for my honey on Valentine’s Day!)
Regular sausage – $2.50 on sale – I only used 1/2 of the package to really $1.25
Shrimp – $10 on sale – I used about 1/3 of the package so really $3.50 or so
Asparagus – $2.99 on sale
Mushrooms – $2.99 – I used about 1/3 of the package so really $1
Three lemons – $1.50
Pasta –  Used 1/2 of a small bag so $.50

Total: $14.73 for four people plus we have enough leftovers for two people. So total per serving is around $2.50!

Not only was it a really good meal but it was super cheap too!

What’s on your menu this week?

One thought on “What’s for dinner?

    christa said:
    February 23, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    I’ll have to give that a try, sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

