Menu Plan Monday

Posted on

I’ve been at my new (part-time!) job for about a month now and I’ve tried to plan crock-pot meals or easy to put together meals for Pat on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays since I work until 7:00 pm.   Because we are on a pretty tight budget I’ve also been planning our meals 3-4 weeks at a time.  So when you combine the crock pot/easy meals along with planning 3-4 weeks at a time it’s been a little challenging. But surprising we’ve been doing pretty well with sticking with it.

Ok, so here we go. And I’m going to back up a bit and share a few recipes from the weekend.

Saturday: Meatballs, gravy and noodles

Sunday: Keilbsa Sandwiches and Perfect Crispy Potatoes

Monday: Pat and I have a meeting at work (which includes pizza) so it’s supper at Grama’s house!

Tuesday: Beef and Portobello Minestroganof

Wednesday: Fish and Fried Rice – Fried Rice from Owlhaven’s Family Feasts

Thursday: Italian Sausage Soup – from Owlhaven’s Family Feasts (you have to get this cookbook!)

Friday – Saturday: Going out of town so will probably be eating out alot.

And here are a few of the recipes:

Meatballs and Gravy: I thru the meatballs together pretty quick but they turned out great. I mixed together 1 pound hamburger, 2 eggs and 1/2 package of chicken dry boxed stuffing mix.  I formed meatballs, stuck them in the freezer for 10 minutes and then cooked them in a frying pan. I made the gravy with just a package gravy and then combined the meatballs and gravy and let that cook for awhile. Then I made egg noodles and served the meatballs and gravy over them. It was really simple but tasted great.

Kielbasa Sandwiches. This is one of Hubby’s favorites. And he usually makes it because it always turns out better when he makes it! Now I am not a sauerkraut lover. In fact you could call me a sauerkraut hater! But I love this. I don’t put sauerkraut on my sandwich but I do have to admit the flavor of the kielbasa is just amazing.

1 pkg kielbasa sausage
1 can sauerkraut
1 tbls Tabasco sauce or more depending on taste
1 tomato, cut in half and then thinly sliced
1 onion, sliced
1 pkg brat buns

Slice kielbasa into 4 pieces and then slice again the long way so you have 8 think short pieces. Cook in skillet over medium-high heat for approximately 8-10 minutes, turning every couple minutes. Add can of sauerkraut and Tabasco sauce. Turn heat to medium-low. Cook and stir periodically for approximately 10 minutes or until heated through and most of liquid is evaporated. Smother bun with mustard. Put in 2 kielbasa pieces, sauerkraut (or not!), tomato and onion.

Beef and Portobello Minestroganoff

1 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
1 small onion, chopped
2 portobello mushroom caps, gills removed, halved and thickly sliced
1/2 pound ground beef
salt and pepper
4 cups chicken broth
1 15-ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 cup tiny pasta, such as ditalini
1/4 cup sour cream

Add the carrots and onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened and browned, about 8 minutes. Add the mushrooms and cook for 2 minutes. Transfer the vegetables to a medium bowl. Add the beef to the pot and cook over med-high heat, breaking it up, until browned, about 3 minutes; season with salt and pepper. Add the vegetable mixture, chicken broth and tomatoes.
Stir in the pasta and bring to a boil. Lower the heat to med-low, cover and simmer until the pasta is tender, 10-12 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Serve topped with sour cream.

Well I hope your week is a good one! Stop over at Organizing Junkie for lots more menu planning ideas.

4 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

    Dawn Becker said:
    March 1, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Hi Missy! I am a TERRIBLE meal planner. And during this pregnancy I haven’t felt like cooking much at all. But there are a couple of websites that I like when I’m, you know, actually planning meals. =)

    http://eatathomecooks.com/
    http://www.5dollardinners.com/
    http://www.livinglocurto.com/

    Good for you for being organized. I wanna be like you when I grow up!!! Love you!

      Missy said:
      March 1, 2010 at 10:44 pm

      Thanks Dawn – at I hadn’t seen those before – looking forward to spending some time on them! 🙂 Love you too friend!

    christa said:
    March 1, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    thank you for pointing me to Owlhaven, love her blog!

      Missy said:
      March 1, 2010 at 10:43 pm

      She’s awesome. I love her cookbook so much – definitely a must buy!

Leave a Reply

