An unusual date

Posted on

I promised awhile back that I would share about a date Pat and I went on to a wine tasting party. I’ll back up a little bit though and give you some history.

It was the weekend we surprised my mom at her book signing and got stuck on the snowy hill. Pat and I were planning to go to a movie on Saturday night and my mom was going to watch the kids. Turns out though this was the night of a special wine tasting event at Cedar Shores Resort. My brother is the manager there and my sister-in-law is the “Foundation Sommelier”.  She was putting on this special evening featuring wines from different countries around the world and my mom had already bought a ticket.  My mom is the best though and she agreed to still watch the kids and would give us her ticket for the wine tasting.

Me: Ok, that sounds good. But we don’t drink so would it be weird if we went to a wine tasting and didn’t have any wine.

Pat and my sister look at me like I’ve lost my mind.

Mom: Oh no. That’ll be ok! You can just ask Jim (my brother) to bring you a Coke.

Pat and my sister look at my mom like she’s lost her mind.

So before I go any further let me just say that I’m not going to get into the reasons for our choosing not to drink alcohol. Maybe I’ll share about that in another post. That’s not really the point of this post so hopefully whether or not you drink you’ll enjoy our story.

Being the daring folks that we are, we decided to go ahead and go to the wine tasting even though we might feel a little stupid not drinking wine. We figured we’d get our money’s worth by going through the all you can eat buffet three times.  I was very excited to go mostly because my sister was going and my brother and sister-in-law would be there. And of course a night out with my hubby is awesome no matter what we’re doing!

We were one of the first ones there. There were five tables set up, each one representing a different country and featuring 3-4 wines from that country. The first hour you could enjoy appetizers and sample as many wines as you’d like.

For those of you not familiar with wine tastings (uh, that’d be me) you get a wine glass as a part of your ticket cost and then you go around to the different tables and get just a little bit of the wine. You taste it – and I guess you’re suppose to swirl it in your glass and smell it too – and if you don’t like it you dump it in the bucket they have on the table and rinse your glass with water and go on to the next one.

After the first hour of eating appetizers (and we ate alot of them!) and sampling wine it was time for my sister-in-law Leana to grace us with her wine wisdom. She shared about the different wines and then there was more sampling and then finally it was time to eat!

Ok.  We didn’t exactly not drink any wine. We did sample a few. I tasted three different kinds and the only thing it did for me was remind me how much I hate the taste of wine. But it was kinda fun to swirl my glass and smell the wine.  Yes. Yes I do need to get out more.

I was a little unsure of how much fun we would have but it turned out to be a great night. Even if we were a little bit out of our element. We enjoyed amazing food and have fun visiting with family and friends.   And now some pictures.

My sister Danelle and I.

My sister-in-law Leana in front of the South African table (her home country).

Our amazing food.

My brother Jim and sister-in-law Leana.

All of us. Pat, me, Danelle, Leana and Jim.

My hubby. The only person I’d not want to drink wine with at a wine tasting.

3 thoughts on “An unusual date

    Leana Hellman said:
    March 4, 2010 at 11:09 am

    Hi sista! I have to say it was allot of fun to read about your wine tasting experience. I am happy you guys came. Love the last pic with you and Pat with your empty wine glasses, ha ha!

      Missy said:
      March 4, 2010 at 9:13 pm

      We had so much fun sister! And we were so proud of you – you did an awesome job! Love you!

    danelle said:
    March 7, 2010 at 1:39 am

    hi sister 🙂 i love that pix of us! did u notice how we have the same cheek bones, chins, and double chins! lol! i had a great time that nite, so glad we could do that!

Leave a Reply

