The dirtiest car in town

Posted on Updated on

The other morning I was driving the kids to Grama Barb’s and I was reminded again of how dirty our van was. We have to walk sideways past it in the garage because if you allowed yourself to touch it you would be smeared with the dirt and grim that had accumulated over a long winter of no washing.

As we drove I decided to make a quick stop at the car wash. On the way I couldn’t help but compare my dirty van to all the other vehicles on the road. Yep. Mine was the dirtiest car in town.

I felt the same way about my car as I had been feeling about myself. The dirtiest, worst, most worthless person in town.

Worst wife – always thinking about myself first, not taking the initiative to show my husband that I love and desire him, not being patient, not showing interest in what he likes

Worst mom – not being patient, letting other things take priority over my time spent with them, not teaching them enough about the love of Jesus, not praying for them enough

Worst person – lazy, selfish, living in the consequences of our bad financial choices, not showing others the love of Jesus

The list went on and on. The dirtiest person in town.

Thankfully God works through many things, even the radio in my dirty van. My favorite song came on just at the right time, as I was wallowing in self pity and allowing Satan to put thoughts into my heart and soul that were lies.

We drove out of the car wash and it felt so good to have a nice clean car. I prayed that I would never forget the gift of “washing” that Jesus gave to me. Washing away my sin and shame, making me clean. Because of Jesus I have victory over those thoughts and lies from Satan and through Jesus’ strength I can live each day with new purpose and freedom.

I’m Forgiven by Sanctus Real

Well the past is playing with my head
And failure knocks me down again
I’m reminded of the wrong
That I have said and done
And that devil just wont let me forget

In this life
I know what I’ve been
But here in your arms
I know what I am

I’m forgiven
I’m forgiven
And I don’t have to carry
The weight of who I’ve been
Cause I’m forgiven

My mistakes are running through my mind
And I’ll relive my days, in the middle of the night
When I struggle with my pain, wrestle with my pride
Sometimes I feel alone, and I cry

In this life
I know what I’ve been
But here in your arms
I know what I am

When I don’t fit in and I don’t feel like I belong anywhere
When I don’t measure up to much in this life
Oh, I’m a treasure in the arms of Christ ‘cause

2 thoughts on “The dirtiest car in town

    Emily said:
    March 8, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    I know I get down on myself a lot for the same things. Thanks for the great reminder of our worth in Christ.

    singspeakgloryseek said:
    March 9, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I had a thought. You know how when a person washes their car, it invariably rains? Well, I think when we allow Jesus to ‘wash our car’, then He pours down His rain (His grace, His blessings) on us!

Leave a Reply

