The more I love Jesus the more I love you

Posted on

A few weeks ago I was blessed to be able to attend our church’s women’s ministry movie night. I almost didn’t go because I didn’t have anyone to go with. I felt stupid and fearful that I wouldn’t know anyone or find anyone to sit with. Do you ever feel that way? Well that’s a whole nother post!

Thankfully Pat made me go and I’m so glad he did. Of course there were many women there that I knew but God totally blessed me because two friends who I adore (who I was going to invite to go but let it slip my mind til an hour before) were there also!

The movie we watched was No Greater Love. I don’t think it was ever released into theaters but was released directly to video. The goal of the creators of the movie was to have it shown in churches.  It was an excellent movie. Great message. Well made. Nothing too cheesy like you sometimes see with low budget Christian movies.

The movie was about a wife who leaves her husband. I knew this before hand and yes, as I anticipated, it hit a little too close to home.  And because I can’t really put my thoughts around the movie and the storyline I’ll skip to one of the last lines of the movie – and my favorite line.

The more I love Jesus, the more I love you.

The wife said this to her husband and as soon as I heard it I started crying because it was so profound.  And it really is true for any relationship isn’t it? The more we love Jesus the more we love our spouse, our children, our parents, our siblings, our co-workers, etc.  The love of Jesus will overflow into our lives and all we come in contact with.

But mostly I started crying because I do a crummy job of loving Jesus, thus I do a crummy job of loving Pat.  When I focus my heart and soul and thoughts and life on Jesus and love Him with all that is in me, He loves through me and that love overflows to my relationship with Pat and my daily walk as a wife and mother.  But alot of days I don’t focus my heart and soul and thoughts on Jesus and let His love flow through to Pat. I think about myself and my needs and how those needs aren’t always getting met. I let the frustrations and annoyances of daily life rob me of a rich loving relationship with my Heavenly Father and my husband.

The more I love Jesus the more I love you.

Thankfully Jesus loves me a lot more than I ever could and that sees me through.

2 thoughts on “The more I love Jesus the more I love you

    christa said:
    March 14, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Thanks Missy! You are more awesome than you know or believe!!

    Elizabeth said:
    September 1, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I just found this in a Google search for a song, but I needed this, because it IS the Gospel. I just started school and living is so much more complex, but I too need to remember that loving God is the most important thing we can do, and when we do that, we will have everything we need (Matthew 6:33). And the second-most important thing is like it (Matthew 22:37-40).
    Good luck, Christian sister!

Leave a Reply

