Just when I don my supermom cape the winds of reality rip it off

Posted on Updated on

Do you ever have one of those days, or forty, where life weighs down on you and you just can’t get it right?  “It” being different for each person I’m sure. For me “it” is just life in general, balancing the expectations, both real and my own made up ones, of a wife, mother, employee, daughter, sister and friend.

It started Thursday night.  Angel and Caleb weren’t in a sleeping mood and I felt myself spiraling into a state of complete frustration.  For a second I started to be impressed with my mom skills as both kids started to cry at the same time and I got Caleb out of his crib to rock him back to sleep while convincing Angel to lay down in her bed quietly until Mama was done rocking Caleb.  But then I realized my convincing consisted of threats of discipline through clenched teeth and it’s no wonder Angel can’t sleep when she has visions of scary mommies dancing in her head.

Both kids were up at 6:00 am Friday morning and it was an ok morning as I managed to get my 3 week menu and shopping list done. After Caleb’s morning nap we quickly ran to the store and it only took me until we were almost done with our shopping to realize that I had made my entire menu and shopping list off of last week’s store ad.  Nice.  So much for staying on budget this month.

Afternoon naps were close to a disaster. I put them down at the same time but Caleb was so tired I thought he’d go right to sleep. This supermom is not only not a supermom she’s also an idiot. After a few minutes I hear giggling and laughing and go into the bedroom to find Angel standing up in her bed and Caleb standing up in his crib saying something that must have been hilarious because Angel couldn’t stop laughing at him.  As soon as I come in Caleb falls down and pretends to be sleeping. Angel just look at me innocently. The scary monster mommy returns.  But even threats of punishment and taking away toys and favorite blankies and pillows and cups and bottles (yes, yes it was pathetic), I finally opted to put Angel in my bed,  just in time for Princess to come over for a coffee and chocolate date. Supermoms that aren’t Supermoms need rescued too.

Friday night was the same as Thursday night. Not much sleep. Thankfully Caleb slept all night but Angel was up at 11 pm, 12 am, 1 am and 2 am. By then I’m wide awake and my brain won’t shut down as I think about work and all that I do wrong and all the people I let down in my life and seriously how can one person each so much chocolate in one day?

The kids were up at 6 am on Saturday morning and my darling Hubby decided to be Superdad and let me sleep.  I woke up at 8 am to hear Caleb crying and after breakfast and some cartoons he was down for a nap at 9 am. I then asked Angel if she wanted to cuddle in my bed and watch cartoons. She said no. I gave her a pouty lip face and she said after a big sigh, “OK Mommy, I’ll cuddle with you.”  Cuddling lasted about 20 minutes and then Superdad appeared again to take Angel downstairs and this Supermom that’s not much of a Supermom slept until 11 am.

Who knew that sometimes all a Supermom wanna-be needs is sleep.

And even though I need a to-do list to navigate my to-do list, my budget is totally blown this month, our house is a mess, both kids are still battling colds, the weekend is almost over, sometimes my life as a wife, mother, employee, daughter, sister and friend is completely overwhelming and I am SO not close to being a Supermom and probably never will be,  I’m very thankful for all that God has blessed me with and the one thing I can always count on is that His mercies are new every morning.

5 thoughts on “Just when I don my supermom cape the winds of reality rip it off

    christa said:
    March 21, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    We should hang out more. i feel like you are in my head sometimes! Thanks for putting words to how i’m feeling!

      Missy said:
      March 21, 2010 at 9:17 pm

      Christa, I agree. That we should hang out more. 🙂

    singspeakgloryseek said:
    March 21, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    AMEN to that last sentence!

    Teri said:
    March 21, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    You are awesome! Don’t ever forget that!

      Missy said:
      March 22, 2010 at 9:46 pm

      Thanks friend. I think you’re awesome too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

