Weekend wrap up

Posted on

Tomorrow I start a new schedule for our busy season and I’ll be working every day noon-8pm. It’ll be nice to have every morning home – not so nice working til 8 pm. But that’s ok – we enjoyed this last four day weekend.

On Wednesday night when I got home from work I packed up the kids and headed to my parent’s house two hours away.

You already know about the highlight of our trip there. (which I’ll share in detail later this week)

But we also enjoyed time on the boat. Even though it was a little chilly.

After our boat ride we went swimming. We being my mom and Angel. Caleb isn’t much of a swimmer, unlike Angel who will spend hours swimming if we let her.

Although if I looked this cute in a swimsuit I might enjoy swimming more too.

We stayed at my parents house for a few days and came home on Friday night. Just in time for me to make my to do list. Ya know the kind of to do list that doesn’t get done.

Well I guess I did get three things done on my list. I felt like I didn’t sit down once all weekend so I’m not sure what else I was doing.

Saturday we ran a bunch of errands. Bought the kids some shoes and summer clothes. Bought fabric to recover our food stained disgusting dining room chairs. Got groceries.

We enjoyed alot of time outside Saturday and Sunday and we bought Angel a tryke.

Even though Caleb now doesn’t have to share his little car/bike/riding thing he wasn’t too happy about not getting his own tryke.

I tried to explain to him that he’s only 15 months old and not quite old enough for his own tryke but he didn’t really care for my reasoning and threw himself on the ground and cried some more.

Not sure what the deal is with our cranky kids but I almost went bonkers this weekend with tantrums and whining and fighting and meltdowns. I felt like a really bad mama because I don’t think I had much patience but after the 15th meltdown (in an hour) it gets a little frustrating. Their schedule has been all messed up lately, plus they are both teething – Angel getting her 2 year molars, Caleb still getting about 6 teeth coming in – so I suppose I can cut them some slack.

The highlight of the weekend? Our first top-off Jeep ride.

I didn’t get my floors swept or mopped. Nor did I get my bathrooms clean. I would say my to do list was pretty worthless but I did get my laundry done.

See.

On Sunday we enjoyed a great church service, had lunch with my brother at CiCi’s Pizza, went to Toys R Us, Target and Bed Bath & Beyond looking for an end of the driveway guard net thing – with no luck. And then stopped by Emily’s open house before heading home for naps.

A half dozen meltdowns, brats on the grill with homemade potato salad, and baths for the babies finished up the weekend and here we are, contemplating watching my DVR’d Kendra, putting laundry away or going to bed.

I think bed is going to win.

5 thoughts on “Weekend wrap up

    Dawn Becker said:
    April 11, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Our kitchen chairs are absolutely gross too!!! I’m so glad we’re not the only ones. =) They need to be recovered SO badly, but I think we’re gonna wait awhile.

    Despite the tantrums and meltdowns you have ridiculously cute kids! Isn’t it amazing how they can fight when they’re this little? My kids already drive each other crazy! Yikes!

    danelle said:
    April 11, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    sister are you serious, you watch kendra?

      Missy said:
      April 12, 2010 at 7:20 am

      lol – yes i do. i’m going to write a post about it because i love how she is so real. the one about her weight and feeling bad about herself. i cried through the whole thing. 🙂

    learningpatience said:
    April 15, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Saw your comment at my place – thanks!
    I just have to say that of all your pics, the ones of your two little ones together are almost always my favorites (except maybe for the pranks) – those two are just SO cute together! I can only imagine that they team up to be a handful together too!

      Missy said:
      April 15, 2010 at 9:19 pm

      oh, you have no idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

