Rock for a little while

Posted on

I love my time with the babies at bedtime. I know the time will come when they won’t need me or want me to rock with them and tuck them in. So I cherish every minute of it. I recently also realized that it’s a precious time I have with my Heavenly Father.

We play a music cd every night, the same one we’ve played since Angel was a tiny 7-week old. Praise songs by Praise Baby.  It consists of soothing praise songs and since we put it on repeat it usually plays most of the night and day.  Our routine with Caleb is to rock for 10-15 minutes while he has his bottle. I’ll talk to him a little bit and pray with him and sometimes sing A Bushel and A Peck if he’s crabby (the only song that puts him to sleep). But most nights we just rock in the dark room as we listen to the praise songs and I try to memorize the features on his face.

It’s the last 5-10 minutes of our ritual that I switch my attention from Caleb to the Lord. I sing along, usually to myself, to the songs and pray to my Heavenly Father.

You alone are Savior and
You alone are God
You alone are Savior and
You alone are God

I’m alive, I’ve alive, I’m alive I’m alive
I’m alive, I’ve alive, I’m alive I’m alive

30-45 minutes after Caleb goes to bed it’s Angel’s turn. We usually rock a little bit and then lay her in bed, get the covers just right, rub her back, say our prayers, give kisses (and often times repeat six times) and then she’ll say, “Rock for a little while,” wanting us to rock in the rocking chair. Every single night. And until recently I wasn’t too fond of rocking by myself in the rocking chair for a little while because I had dishes to do or clothes to put away or my bed was calling.

But then I realized the treasure I have in this time. Yes, it’s only 10 minutes, 15 total when you add the time rocking with Caleb, and honestly some days it’s the only quiet time I have with the Lord. Maybe that’s lame and just plain wrong and I’ll be the first to admit I’m a work in progress and thankfully it’s my loving Savior and Friend Jesus doing the work in me. I think part of that work was the Lord helping me realize this precious time I have. Five minutes as I rock Caleb. Ten minutes when Angel asks me to “rock for a little while.”  Time to be quiet and think about my Savior, think about my day, think about the blessings, the challenges and just praise Him for being such a good God.

Come now is the time to worship
Come now is the time to worship

When my babies are all grown up and don’t want mom or dad to rock them anymore or “rock for a little while” I will be very sad. Until then though I’ll be thankful for the quiet time I’m given, short as it may be and treasure every minute I have with my babies and my Lord.

Oh God you are my God and I will ever praise You
Oh God you are my God and I will ever praise You
I will seek you in the morning and learn to walk in Your ways
And step by step you’ll lead me and I will follow you all of my days

(Edited to add: A wrote this a few weeks ago. After I wrote it I sold our rocking chair. Because I’m just plain dumb. Now we “rock for a little while” on the floor in the kid’s bedroom. Tomorrow’s post: the day she lost what little mind she had left.)

3 thoughts on “Rock for a little while

    christa said:
    April 21, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Our older kids are 9 and 6 and we still “lay down with them” every night. We definitely have moments of being annoyed and just wanting to get on to other things, but its something we really treasure. We’ll keep “laying down” until they move out if they want us to 🙂 You are a good mama!!

    Teri said:
    April 22, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    Sweetness 🙂

    sincerelyanna said:
    April 22, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    Oh, how sweet. You’re right, it is a treasure. So often I rush through it and just need to slow down and enjoy that time of worship…because that’s exactly what it is.

Leave a Reply

