We’ve got radishes!

Posted on

Let me back up.

Once upon a time, before my computer died (I’m borrowing one now), we planted a garden. As in last weekend. And I haven’t had a chance to tell you. Because ya know, my computer died.

Anyway, our garden planting experience was amazing. I was so nervous because we didn’t really know what we were doing. My family always had a garden when I was growing up but that was a long time ago.  I know it’s not rocket science but I was still so nervous that everything we planted would die. But it appears we might actually have a real live garden that produces real live food.

We planted quite a bit. Especially considering our garden space is only 8×8. I’m thinking we’re going to have to do alot of thinning. This is the only picture I have of the entire thing. Angel was alot more excited than she appears to be here.

Here’s what we planted:

First row: watermelon, cantaloupe and cucumbers
Second row: beans
Third row: peas
Fourth row: radishes, carrots and onions
Fifth row: red peppers, green peppers, some kind of hot peppers and jalapeno peppers
Sixth row: tomatoes

Caleb’s sole purpose was to destroy everything but Angel did really good with helping to plant.

Doesn’t Caleb look huge? That’s because he is.

We planted our garden on Saturday and my dad told me that we would have radishes in five days. Don’t tell my dad this, but Pat didn’t believe him.  So Angel and I were very excited to scream in excitement when he got home tonight (on the fifth day!), “WE’VE GOT RADISHES!”

Do you see them? Aren’t they cute? Isn’t it amazing? We are so excited and proud.

I know, we need to get out more.

We also planted some strawberries in a wooden planter that’s on our deck and I ventured WAY out of my comfort zone and planted some basil and parsley. The basil is from these little planters that is actually still growing.  The strawberries are doing really good and we might even have something edible in a week or so.

It’s going to be an exciting summer folks!

Leave a Reply

