Dear Princess – don’t be a drip

Posted on

The other morning I actually got myself out of bed before your brother and sister woke up to spend some time in God’s Word. Unfortunately within about 8.5 minutes they were up and climbing on top of me.  They seem to have this keen sense of awareness of when I’m awake and needing some alone time.

But anyway, in those 8.5 minutes I read through a few chapters in Proverbs and came across a few that I wanted to share a few things with you. 

I started in Proverbs 27. No real reason, just opened my Bible.

Verse 1: Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring forth.

This is a message you’ll find often throughout the Bible. Your focus needs to be on today. On this day now that God has given to you and not on tomorrow or the next day or the next. Now that is interesting considering your excitement for your wedding and how you (and me) have been counting down the days. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that – looking forward to one of the most important days of your life. But don’t let things in the future take away from the joy that God wants to bless you with today.

Verse 3: Stone is heavy and sand a burden, but provocation by the fool is heavier than both.

I had to look up provocation in the dictionary:

1. the act of provoking.

2. something that incites, instigates, angers, or irritates.

3. words or conduct leading to killing in hot passion and without deliberation.

This verse tells us that our words and actions that lead to anger and irritation is a greater burden to carry than a heavy stone or walking through sand.  There will be days in your marriage Princess when you may be provoked to lash out at Prankster with words of anger and irritation. Possible even actions. No, you probably won’t want to kill him but maybe you’ll be tempted to not love him or to run away from a situation that is frustrating. Guard your tongue and your heart and pray for God’s strength to speak and act in love, even when you are upset.

Verse 12: The prudent see danger and take refuge, but the simple keep going and suffer for it.

You will face danger in the days to come. Satan is like a lion on the prowl and seeks to kill and destroy. First and foremost make prayer and God’s Word the center of your marriage. And secondly don’t allow your ears to go deaf to the warning signs or to Satan’s temptations. Once again, guard your heart. Be prudent when you see danger and take refuge in the Truth of God’s Word.

Verse 15: A quarrelsome wife is like a constant dripping on a rainy day; restraining her is like restraining the wind or grasping oil with the hand.

I have to be honest and say that I’ve never struggled with being a quarrelsome wife.

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

Ok, maybe just a little.  Thankfully God is patient and has taught me alot of keeping my mouth shut. That doesn’t mean that I don’t want to “quarrel” with my husband. Often times my way is much better than his way. I mean, let’s just be honest about that. 

I’m kidding you know. Sort of.

Anyway, it’s not about who’s way is better. It’s about respecting your husband and allowing him to be the leader of the home. I believe the often times the reason men do not take the lead in certain situations is because we don’t allow them and charge on through doing it our own way. My prayer for Prankster is that he would love you as Christ loves the Church and he would understand how much God has gifted you and made you to be a wonderfully wise young woman.  Which means he would just know to do it your way the first time.

Hee hee. Seriously though this might be your biggest struggle in marriage.  I know it has been for me. But just like God is still stretching and molding me, He’s doing the same for you.  His Word is full of wisdom. He will put Godly women in your life to encourage you through your walk with the Lord and through your marriage.  He is faithful and will guide you through each day as you grow in wisdom and knowledge and love.

Leave a Reply

