We interrupt this nap for some medical drama

Posted on

I’m about due for some medical drama, don’t you think?

About 9 months ago I started having a sharp pain in my chest, specifically my right breast.  It’s a very sporatic pain, some days nothing, other days all day and other days a few times a day. It only lasts 10-30 seconds.  I was certain it was a heart attack but then again what do I know.

In January I went to the doctor to get it checked out in addition to headaches I’d been having. Since all my pains were very random and sporatic he gave me a few suggestions and sent me on my way. He did ask that I keep track of the pain and my headaches so I could be more certain of how often and specifically where the pain is.

I had kinda forgot about it because the pain was, as I said, random and sporatic. My headaches weren’t in one certain place but the pain in my chest continued. Last week there was a day where I had pain all day and so I figured I should go back in. And the all knowing world wide web confirmed this.  I called yesterday and miracously I got in today.

Every time I go to the doctor I tell myself I’m going to take my time and ask questions and not feel rushed. And every time the opposite happens and I leave feeling rushed and like I didn’t get all my questions answered. But not today. Dr U was great and took his time answering my questions and trying to decipher what’s going on. He said he didn’t feel anything suspicious and I had xrays taken in January and they looked good. My blood work looked good.  But just to be safe he wants me to have a baseline mammogram and so I get to have that on Friday. Let me tell you how excited I am about that.

We were just about wrapping up and he was asking me a few last questions when he decided to check around my gall bladder. Ouch. It hurt pretty bad when he put pressure on it and he said that sometimes the gall bladder can cause pain elsewhere in the body. So tomorrow I’ll have an ultrasound and if that is negative I’ll have a more in depth scan of my gall bladder (can’t remember what that’s called though).

And so all this testing to determine that I have a muscle strain. Or maybe I just need another nap.  Now that I can get excited about.

3 thoughts on “We interrupt this nap for some medical drama

    Erika said:
    June 16, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Praying for you, Missy. Glad you are listening to your body and getting stuff figured out. I know what you mean about feeling rushed at the dr’s. Happens to me every time. The unknown is scary – praying that you feel PEACE and REST in Jesus’ arms. Love you.

    sincerelyanna said:
    June 17, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    I hope you get some answers soon and don’t have to go through a lot more of these tests. It’s so weird how parts of the body can cause so many seemingly “unrelated” symptoms. Praying for you!

    Terri said:
    June 17, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Hi Missy,
    I will be praying for you and hope everything turns out well .

Leave a Reply

