Anguish for brothers

Posted on Updated on

I had started a post about how naughty my children were and maybe some day I will share about that. Because frankly I need a little encouragement because I’m beginning to think my 1 and 2-year-olds are the naughtiest children in the world.

But as I was writing the naughtiness post I was convicted. I was talking about how we’ve tried everything. And then it hit me like a ton of bricks that while I do pray for my children, I haven’t prayed for them like I should. I’m overwhelmed some days with the responsiblity of caring for my children. To raise my children to love and serve the Lord. I know that I can’t force it and they will make choices of their own, but I also believe that our prayers will have a huge impact on our children.

In the middle of all this thinking about naughtiness and prayer and responsibility I read a blog of my friend Dawn.

http://beingandyswife.blogspot.com/2010/07/anguish-for-brothers.html

I was especially touched by her father’s prayer. So powerful. I think even more powerful for me because this was the same man (and family) who prayed like crazy for me when I went astray.  I know that they suffered anguish and much heartache and cried out to God on my behalf.

What a wonderful example for me and Pat as we strive each day to love and guide our children. And yes, survive through the naughtiness. It’s only on our knees that we will.

2 thoughts on “Anguish for brothers

    Jenny said:
    July 13, 2010 at 4:59 am

    I’ll have to go read the link later, but no. You do not have the naughtiest kids ever. They happen to live with me. And are driving me to the brink.

      Missy said:
      July 13, 2010 at 6:18 pm

      oh my word. Your comment made me laugh. I’m sorry, I’m not laughing at you, I’m laughing with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

