Weekend wrap up

Posted on

I’ve been sitting here for ten minutes trying to remember what we did on Friday night. It was obviously so exciting that I blocked it out of my memory. Or it could have been that we did nothing so there’s nothing to remember. I’m going to go with that.

Oh I know. Pat did laundry. I swept and mopped the floor. See. Exciting.

Saturday things really did get exciting (well for us anyway). Pat rode in a bike ride about an hour south of where we live. We packed up the kids and headed out of town around 7:30 am on Saturday morning. He was going to ride with two of is buddies from work and they couldn’t decide for sure if they were going to ride the 25 mile course or the 58 mile course. Turns out there was a 40 mile course and so they rode that.

The ride started at 9:00 am and the kids and I drove about 5 miles down course to cheer on Pat. After they passed us we went back into the small town to find a park. I couldn’t find a park and so we stopped at a gas station to change diapers.  I asked how close Sioux City, IA was and it was only 18 miles away. I decided that we’d drive there and find a mall or someplace air conditioned. Pat would be riding his bike at least 2 hours so we had plenty of time.   We started on our way and came across another exit for the town we were in. The actual exit. And we passed by a park. So change of plans. We took that exit but unfortunately there was road construction so we drove around 15 minutes before finding the park.

At the park we enjoyed wet grass, wet sand, wet play equipment and mosquitoes the size of small birds. And then we were back on the road for Sioux City.  Before we got in the van Angel had walked around the van (because I told her not to) and was picking dandelionsBecause I’m a mean mommy I made her put it down and she wasn’t too happy about it. I told her that we’d pick flowers when we got to Sioux City. She said, “THERE AREN’T FLOWERS IN SIOUX CITY.”

(No offense anyone who lives in Sioux City.)

Along the way Angel kept asking how long til we got to “the City”. Even when we got to “the City” she didn’t believe that we were there. Eventually she said, “It’s ok mama, I’ll find it. We’ll be ok.”

Right as you get to Sioux City there’s a visitor’s center, bike trail and playground along the river. We were going to stop there but then I saw a sign for a mall. Sweet. We kept driving and I took what I thought was the right exit. However that exit led us into Nebraska and there was no mall in sight. We turned around and went back to the visitor’s center, bike trail and playground.

Yes, all this craziness was wasting lots of time. We only had about 30 minutes until Pat would be done with his race. We went on a short walk and played at the playground for awhile and then headed back to meet Pat.  We probably should have stayed put and braved the wetness and giant mosquitos.

The rest of Saturday was pretty low key. We got home and hung out with some of Pat’s family for awhile. And then we all took an amazing nap. My mom came to visit us Saturday night and we had a pretty low key night. We watched part of a movie (Date Night). We were all so tired we didn’t make it through the whole thing.

Sunday at church my mom shared a testimony and special music. I love it when she’s able to come sing at our church. Her newest song is so awesome! It’s based on Ephesians 3:19 (part of my life verse) so maybe that’s why I love it so much.  After church we had lunch with my mom and brother and then once again had a pretty low key afternoon and evening.

Tonight Pat and I each ran 2.4 miles. We were hoping it was longer but that’s ok I guess, it’s still the longest we’ve ran since we started training. At lunch today my brother mentioned that a 5K is 3.2 miles and I almost choked on my pork chop. I was thinking it was 2 1/2 miles. So we need to kick it into gear – only a few weeks left. But we’ll update more on our training tomorrow.

Sorry, no pictures. I don’t think I took even one picture all weekend. Lots of memories in my head!

2 thoughts on “Weekend wrap up

    Heather Abels said:
    August 22, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    so I have to admit, I haven’t looked at your blog in a little while…and I had no idea you were running! Way to go! That is really awesome. I am going to run in the Sioux Falls 5k thing coming up soon…but I am thinking that a 5k is actually 3.1 miles…I am sure you will rest better knowing it may possibly one-tenth of a mile less than you thought it was 😉 Quite frankly at this point, I will be happy with completion of the race with walking/running…

      Missy said:
      August 29, 2010 at 9:32 pm

      You have no idea how much 1/10th means to me! I’m sure we’ll see you at the SF 5K. As you cruise right past me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

