Team Lael

Posted on Updated on

On Saturday Pat and I ran our first 5k since beginning our training. Our friends David and Kristin had a Heart Walk team in memory of their daughter Lael.

Unfortunately I made the mistake of biking pretty hard on Friday night. My legs were very sore Saturday morning and I had decided to just do the walk instead of the run. But as soon as Pat got registered and received his bib and chip I was too excited to let this embarassement opportunity pass me by.

Before the big race:

Kristin and me (and David)…

There we go. A nice picture of me and Kristin…

The whole group. A little blinded by the light…

I was a little nervous before the race because I knew I hadn’t run 3.1 miles yet in our training. My mom encouraged me that the adrenalin of the race and all the runners would help me keep going. Unfortunately when you run as slow as I do that adrenalin only lasts about the first mile and then there’s usually no one in sight.

I did actually pass 3 people (after everyone, yes everyone passed me) right in the beginning. For about two miles of the race there were two people ahead of me and I thought I could keep up with them and maybe even catch them. The guy would start walking and I would get just up about to him and then he’d start running again. This continued for the entire race and it was very frustrating to never catch him.

The really tough part came when I thought I was coming up on the finish line. When I got up to it the lady said “Good job. 4/10ths of a mile to go!”. Oh my word. I was so ready to be done and I thought for sure that was the finish so had started to pick up the pace. Unfortunately since it wasn’t the finish line I had to stop and walk for a little bit. In the 4/10ths of a mile I had to walk three times for a couple minutes each time. That was a little discouraging but I finished running strong.

And only three people beat me. I mean, only three people didn’t beat me. Yes I am that slow. But I ran faster than I used to run. I ran an 11 1/2 minute mile. Much improved from my days of 12 minute miles.

After the race we got free bottled water and food and there were inflatables for the kids. Pat’s mom, two nieces and nephew came out to watch the kids for us while we ran. So after the race we tried to convince the kids to go in the bouncy house.

Caleb was content to just sit and watch…

Angel finally got in the bouncy house when a couple girls offered to help her bounce. Then she had fun.

Team Lael was the 2nd highest fundraising team for community groups so that was pretty awesome.  Even though it was bittersweet to be there, we had a great morming and were very glad we could be a part of Team Lael.

6 thoughts on “Team Lael

    Stacy said:
    August 29, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    Great for you Missy! What an accomplishment to even run most of it and finish it in my book. On another note, I am wondering if this ended at falls park because I was there with my mom and new nephew and I saw them taking down inflatables and tents!! To think, we might have run(heehee) into one another there! Oh well, congrats to you and Pat too=)

      Missy said:
      August 29, 2010 at 9:30 pm

      Yes, that’s where we were! The race started at 9 am and we were done around 10:30 or so but we left pretty quick after the race. Bummer we didn’t see each other!

    David Seruyange said:
    August 29, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Thank you guys so much for being there. In a word like ours words more often than not drown out meaning but with your actions we’ve felt love and compassion God intended for us on our difficult journey. May God bless you for that!

    Kristin S said:
    August 29, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Ditto to what David said. We are honored and feel blessed by your presence and support. Thanks for loving our Lael. We love you guys. And GREAT job!

      Missy said:
      August 29, 2010 at 9:35 pm

      Kristin and David, It was really hard to write this post. I wasn’t sure how to express that while we had fun and enjoyed being able to participate, it was the last place on earth we’d want to be. I know a million times more that’s how you were feeling. God has blessed us greatly by having you all in our lives. We love you too! (Go Jacks! :))

    laenie said:
    August 29, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    🙂 Missy, you did awesome! And you looked beautiful (flushed cheeks and all!) after you finished!

Leave a Reply

