Children, mini vacations and sleep

Posted on Updated on

So the kiddos are on their way to my parent’s house to spend three nights with them! THREE NIGHTS!  I’m so sad. And so happy. And so sad. Mostly sad. But happy too to have some time with my hubby.  Except that as I type he is upstairs watching some army movie. I’m downstairs watching Project Runway. Careful folks, it’s pretty steamy around here.

Tomorrow we head up to Minneapolis to stay at this awesome hotel and take in a Twins game. Saturday night we are staying over with Princess and Prankster and we’re so excited to spend some time with them. Not sure what else we’re going to do. Probably nothing.  Maybe take advantage of three days and nights of uninterrupted sleep.  That sounds like a plan to me.

I told Pat he’s going to have to actually talk to me on the drive. He looked at me kinda weird. You see we haven’t talked in 20 months since our second miracle baby was born, 14 months after our first miracle baby.  Well other than saying, “Can you change a diaper?” or “PAT, CALEB IS ON THE COUNTER AGAIN!” or “Can you carry the laundry downstairs?” or “Good nig…zzzzzzzzzz”.

We are really excited about seeing Princess and Prankster. They go to school at the U of M and I’ve never been there and of course it’ll be the first time seeing their apartment. Princess is going to cook us a meal on Saturday and OH MY WORD she’s all grown up. When did that happen?

I just got word that my babies made it safe and sound to Grama and Papa’s house. Now I can rest knowing they’ve arrived safe and sound. And now I’ll begin praying for my family who think they are going to have fun over the next 3 days. MWAHAHAHAHA! 

Last night as we drove to Target I was trying to explain to Angel what the plan was for the weekend. This is word for word (almost).

Me: Angel tomorrow you’re going to go with Aunt Nellie to Grama and Papa’s house for THREE days!

Angel: Three days?!

Me: Yes, three days!

Angel: And then we can go to Menards!  (We had just drove past Menards.)

Me: OK?  Are you going to be ok for three days without mommy and daddy?

Angel: Yes. I will be ok.

Me: You will have to take care of Caleb.

Angel: Ok. Caleb, I’m going to take care of you.

Me: You won’t be scared will you?

Angel: Nope.

Me: Me and daddy are going to go on a little trip.

Angel: THAT SOUNDS LIKE FUN!

Me: Yes, it will be fun but we are going to miss you and Caleb very much.

Angel: Yep.

Well I suppose I should get off the computer and enjoy the deafening silence peace and quiet.  Plus I still have to pack so we can leave bright and early. Thankfully a good friend is staying at our house this weekend so we don’t have to worry about the doggies or our sump pump.

Enjoy your Labor Day weekend!

p.s. Project Runway is over and I may or may not be watching Yo Gabba Gabba right now. (I miss my kids).

3 thoughts on “Children, mini vacations and sleep

    christa said:
    September 2, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    🙂 I’m sure a night of uninterrupted sleep will give you some energy for a great weekend! Enjoy!!!! We are getting two nights later this month and we are soooooooo excited.

    Jenny said:
    September 3, 2010 at 5:38 am

    ahhh, sleep…my idea of vacation! Sounds like fun! We are heading out tomorrow for 4 days with the kids, then they are also going to grandma’s while we go to a cabin for some quiet and sleep! I will try to not be anxious about it. Enjoy your time with P and P!

    singspeakgloryseek said:
    September 3, 2010 at 9:09 am

    We’re all doing awesome! Your kids are SO GOOD! Anyway, head over to
    singspeakgloryseek.wordpress.com for some little video clips. Sorry the quality is so bad. It’s from my phone. I’m going to see if I can get my camera to take videos.

Leave a Reply

