Trapped

Posted on

Can you imagine being trapped underground for 69 days? It’s been amazing to watch the coverage of the rescue of the miners from Chile.  I can’t even begin to fathom how horrible of an experience that would be.

But then I remembered that there was a time in my life when I was trapped. And the entrapment lasted much longer than 69 days. It was almost two years of being drapped in a very dark place of sin.  Right after Pat and I met I walked into “the pit” and walked away from my relationship with Christ.  At first I didn’t realize it. I didn’t recognize the darkness beginning to engulf me. But eventually I did. Only then it was too late and I was trapped in a deep pit with no hope of being rescued.

Thanks be to God there was hope and an amazing rescue that took place.  Jesus got a hold of my heart and finally broke through. He reached down into that pit and pulled me out, surrounded me with love and forgiveness and brought hope and healing.  He freed me from the darkness. He rescued me from pit of despair and hopelessness.

I’ve thought too lately of how we can allow ourselves to become trapped in the circumstances of our life. Maybe it’s marriage, kids, a job, relationship with family, money, etc. Whatever the challenge we face we become trapped. Sometimes with bitterness and angry. Sometimes in hopelessness and despair.  Even while we are walking with Christ we can experience these moments (and sometimes days and months) of entrapment.  It’s from these too that Jesus desires to set us free.  He wants to make our marriages whole and healthy. He wants us to release our kids to Him. He wants us to find joy in all circumstances we face.  But it’s only when we surrender these things to Him can we be truly free.

John 8:36 says “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”  And 2 Corinthians 3:17 says, “Now  the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”

Your Heavenly Father desires that you be freed from the trap of sin. He sent his Son Jesus to rescue you and provide a way to freedom.  He also provides that freedom daily, in our walk with him.  What joy and peace and hope that can bring.   Are you trapped? Do you know the freedom that Christ brings.  I pray that if you are trapped, today would be your day of rescue.

One thought on “Trapped

    Jenny said:
    October 15, 2010 at 5:49 am

    Amen, and amen. I’m posting this on FB. Don’t worry, I don’t have a lot of friends!

Leave a Reply

